We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranchos Plaza Grill

Ranchos Plaza Grill
#6 St. Francis Plaza, Ranchos De Taos, Taos, NM 87557
575-758-5788
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Lompoc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

great atmosphere and tasty new Mexican cuisine. We enjoyed the blue corn carne adovada enchiladas and chile rellanos both Christmas of course !

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    47
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Very quaint. Nothing fancy about this place but their food was great. One plate of food could feed two people. Can't miss it leaving Taos heading to Santa Fe next to church.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Go Out of Your Way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

It's a REASON to visit Taos. This restaurant is proof that honest presentation can be beautiful and wonderful. If you're looking for Margaritas and Fajitas galore...this is NOT the place...This is a friendly warm beautfiul little restaurant that serves well prepared thoughtfully created dishes. The BEST sopapillas, large, fluffy, warm and filling. The green chile sauce with a nice low heat, I We ordered and additional side it was so good! And...Maybe the best chile rellenos ever!!! The staff work well together and are efficient and friendly. There were many 'regulars' in while we were there and it's easy to see why. This place is a testament to New Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible, Don't miss out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Hands down the best New Mexican restaurant I have been. We had the carne adovado enchiladas and a combo plate (cheese enchiladas and tamales). Everything was outstanding, even the normally throw away beans and rice. Meal came with giant delicious, flaky sopapillas. I can not begin to describe just how good the food was, so try it for yourself. The place appears to be a family run operation and is minimally staffed. It took awhile for us to be seated despite numerous available tables, but after we had our table the service was prompt and the waiters frequently checked to make sure things were good. Don't be discouraged if you have to wait for someone to have time to seat you. Your patience will absolutely be rewarded by delicious food! Your taste buds will thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have a get away home in Taos. We stop for lunch or dinner regularly. If we are arriving and they are opened we pull in before even unpacking! The atmosphere is great. We love to eat on the patio. The staff is very friendly. The outdoor area is minimal. But you can see a landmark next door and all the tourists are fun to watch taking pictures. You also have a great view of the mountains. The food is breathtaking! Authentic! Delicious! The guacamole and their salsa are killer! It is so hard to pick which wonderful entree you will have. You can't go wrong! The beans are home made and not some deadly refryed glob thrown on a plate. The iced teas are very nice ( the raspberry is my husband's favorite). No alcohol here because of the proximity to the church, but they are a packed house without it. It is about the perfect food! Then there are the sopapillas!! They truly the best in the state ( I have personally tested hundreds of them)! This is a family friendly place. The casual atmosphere allows you to relax, breath the fresh air and have one of the best meals you will ever eat! Going back in a few weeks and can hardly wait!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranchos Plaza Grill also viewed

Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Ranchos Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranchos Plaza Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.