We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranchos Plaza Grill

Ranchos Plaza Grill
#6 St. Francis Plaza, Ranchos De Taos, Taos, NM 87557
575-758-5788
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

After reading reviews on this restaurant and seeing that it was close to our hotel, we decided to give it and try. We were glad we did! I had the stuffed chicken sopapila, my husband had the stuffed beef sopapila and my daughter had the nachos. We were all happy with our choices. The green chile sauce definitely has a kick! They do not serve alcohol since they are right next to a church, so margarita or cerveza! The service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    66
    18
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I had just taken a drive down the Rio Grande Gorge and were pretty hungry and we stopped here. What an incredible meal. My wife had the fajitas which were amazing and I had the seafood enchiladas, also extremely flavorful. The atmosphere was quiet and the food was great. After eating we took a short walk around the plaza for some pictures. Very nice

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We agree with some other reviewers who noted what a friendly spot this is! You DO feel like family.
The food, particularly the sopapillas, is awesome. I was smart to get my green chili on the side because last night it was un poco mas caliente than it is on other night. I was able to add just the right amount. Too bad that, being so close to the church, they can't serve alcohol, but with such yummy food, you don't really need it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Very authentic establishment, serving good food at reasonable prices. We had quesadillas and tacos and the sopapillas. There wasn't a wait and the wait staff was very friendly. In fact, everyone thanked us for coming to eat there. Felt like a family!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best New Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Every thing we had was terrific, did not hit you over the head, subtle and tasty. I recommend the combination platters. If there was anything less than excellent it would be the soprosatos which were a bit heavy for my taste.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranchos Plaza Grill also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Ranchos Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranchos Plaza Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.