We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ranchos Plaza Grill

Ranchos Plaza Grill
#6 St. Francis Plaza, Ranchos De Taos, Taos, NM 87557
575-758-5788
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bent NM
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 215 cities Reviews in 215 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Best New Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is some of the finest New Mexican food you will ever find.
Ranchos is a family restaurant with a family atmosphere (no alcohol). Service is quick and efficient (they run between kitchen and dining room). You are made to feel welcome.
The tacos feature a large helping of shredded (not ground) beef, perfectly spiced. Their chili uses caribe peppers and that gives it a different and marvelous taste that is not too hot. The hand-made tamales are stuffed with chunk pork (not pulverized) with more meat than you will find at any other restaurant. The enchiladas have real cheese, not Velveeta. But the crowning glory is the chile relleno, crispy batter the right thickness, and not overcooked.
I have eaten at hundreds of New Mexican restaurants, but none finer than Ranchos Plaza Grill. Prices are good too, $7.95 to 12.95.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    44
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Feels like home, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We are Taos locals and visit this restaurant at least once a week. We have known to hit a record of 4 times a week. The main reasons: extremely consistent food quality, great service, very congenial and genuine staff that cares and after a while will know you and greet you by name. They manage to keep loyal staff and have basically had the same team since we moved here 7 years ago. In the summer, they have an outdoor patio with views of the famous church. We like everything on the menu and after having tried all they have to offer from salads to pasta to authentic NM food, we are absolutely hooked. Due to the proximity to the church, they do not serve alcohol, but we like that as they really have to focus on food quality to be as successful as they are. They are located in an ancient, rustic building, which adds to the flair. If you come to Taos, make this your first stop! The prices are great, too,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best New Mexican Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is my wife's and my favorite restaurant. I can honestly say I've never had better food in my whole life. We live in Denver now, and sometimes we'll make the trip down to Taos just to eat here, seriously, it's that good! Definitely try the red chile.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good NM food... Warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stumbled into here on Halloween night after taking photos at the beautiful St. Francis Church. I followed someone's recommendation on Trip Advisor and ordered the blue corn enchiladas. That was definitely a wise decision!

The atmosphere was warm and inviting, the service good, and it didn't bother me one bit that alcohol wasn't served!

And was even nicer about our visit is that the restaraunt that night was filled with locals, which always makes you feel like you made the right decision on where you ate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Dependable and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Right by the famous St. Francis Church. Delicious New Mexican food in a historic building, nice atmosphere. Good for families or groups. Patio too. No alcohol.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranchos Plaza Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ranchos Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranchos Plaza Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.