We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trading Post Cafe

Trading Post Cafe
4179 State Road 68, Ranchos De Taos, Taos, NM 87557-8763
575-758-5089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Toward the end of our first week ever in Taos we stumbled upon the Trading Post Cafe. It may not look like much from the outside, but once inside, the local ambiance reverberates off the walls decorated with colorful quilts. The food was truly wonderful... so good, in fact, that we returned for lunch the next day. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and professional. It's a charming spot and was one of our best meals in Taos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    14
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Loved the ambience, great menu, beautiful decor. One complaint, pasta was not a denta.. I got the chicken piccata. My husband loved the mussels. We will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great atmosphere with stunning quilts (works of art) hung throughout the restaurant walls! The food was fresh, delicious and memorable! The service attentive and helpful. I ordered the Nicoise Salad with Tuna - medium rare - Wow!!!! So delicious. If you have to choose one place to eat in Taos - pick this place!!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

They were quite busy when my kids, husband and I walked in but we were immediately seated and attended to. The waitstaff was lovely and took the time to listen to my children's requests. The food was fresh and delicious. The owner/chef was so friendly when my children attempted to speak French with her. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Both times we have eaten there, food and service have been excellent. Nicely decorated and quiet place. Food is a little on the pricey side, but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trading Post Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Trading Post Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trading Post Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.