We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trading Post Cafe

Trading Post Cafe
4179 State Road 68, Ranchos De Taos, Taos, NM 87557-8763
575-758-5089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lubbock
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wife, sister and I recently ate dinner at the Trading Post and looked forward to a delightful Italian meal. Though they had a very good selection and many specials (difficult to keep track off as they were rattled off quickly by our waiter) the food was rated as only average by our group of three. My sister had the Piccata Milanese which was poor with overcooked chicken. The Portabello Mushroom Raviolis was much better as was the Linguine with meatballs. It was our last night in New Mexico after a week of great meals and we left disapointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    66
    12
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

One of the best spots to dine in Taos area. A classic. Upscale Italian and creative cooks you can watch if you sit at the bar. Great food, nice ambiance. Patio in back. Fireplace.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Earlybird Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On Tues-Thurs. they have a earlybird special from 4-6:00 pm every night. Soup, salad and pasta entree for $12.00 Also $12.00 bottle of wine. Service was excellent, as well as the flavor of the food. Cauliflower and brie soup to die for!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Taos and saw the sign for Italian at this small roadside location. We were very impressed with the selection of food. We had the rosemary chicken and carbonara; which were both delicious.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistently fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

For an elegant, delicious meal, the Trading Post Cafe is consistently a good, if not great choice. A find for foodies. Not so much innovative, but the classics are always well done here. Being a local, I love to sit at the "bar" and watch the cooks in action. They will always accomodate special requests or preferences or diets, which is good since the cuisine is definitely "old world", which is to say, not "lite", fresh yes, but not especially healthy.
I had Ceasar salad with seared Ahi tuna--a generous portion but heavy on the salad dressing. The cooks said to request light on the dressing next time, as I said, they want to do it your way.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trading Post Cafe also viewed

 
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Trading Post Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trading Post Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.