We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kachina Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Questa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kachina Motel
Save
You added Kachina Motel to your Saves list
2306 Highway 522, Questa, NM 87556   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Questa
1 review
“Sweet memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Each visit to this motel has been magical. I first stayed there about 25 years ago. They were so friendly and it felt like I was stepping back in time. The owners were lovely and I have fond memories of sitting on the porch visiting with their little Grand daughter. Relaxing.

Room Tip: Perfect...I hope to return and revisit this sweet area and relaxing motel. My first visit there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We got our room for a very decent price and the room was very nice and clean. It was worth the money we paid. Excellent customer service by the manager Ronda who is on top of everthing from the moment you arrive into the motel, I cannot say enough about the service I experienced at Kachina motel during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We lucked into this place behind some else's cancelation. Thank you, who ever you were! We were aprehensive at first because of the age and lack of modern amenities but within moments of checking in we knew this was a gem amoung stones. Our hostess, Ronda, turned out to be not only a "Jill of all trades" but a first class representative as well. She saw to our every need and regaled us with stories of the local history and helpful hints for sight seeing. Her dog Izzy was an instant friend to all and helped to make us feel welcomed. Before the first day was done, the entire clientale had become like family. Over the years we have stayed at much "higher-end" facilities in the Red River area but never been made to feel genuinely WECOLME. Our thanks and compliments to the owner for your choice in management. Our next visit to the area will definately include a return stay at the Kachina.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you need cooking facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have to agree with the previous post - it IS the friendliest place in Questa! I gave this an excellent review for customer service and cleanliness - and what the place lacks in traditional amenities, it totally makes up for in charm! Ronda is quite the character - very friendly and has a hundred stories - and we really enjoyed our stay. Some riding friends of ours stay there every year during the Red River Motorcycle Rally (which is 14 miles away) so they invited us to stay there instead of going into the town of Red River. We were very glad to be away from the crows at the rally and were quite cozy at the Kachina Motel. If you can't bear to be without internet or telephones - keep on going - but there is cable tv. Don't expect a continental breakfast, but if you are nice, Ronda might make her version of an egg muffin for you and wish you safe travels! She truly gets 5-stars for hospitality - she prides herself on keeping this 100+year old property clean and updated as much as possible. We felt as though we found a friend and hated to say goobye to her and her doggie, Izzy! As we left she gave us a photo card of the "Snoopy" mountain view and she had written a personal note thanking us for staying - who does that!?? (PS - we also had room #1 - the "honeymoon" room!) Some rooms have a kitchen and fridge, but all had microwaves. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We got to Questa just in time for a snow storm; tried another motel but was greeted with a curt
"no vacancy"; drove to Kachina and was warmly greeted by the manager, who gave us the honeymoon room. Clean, very comfortable bed; historic building. Glad to have microwave, as the restaurants were closed due to snow. The manager even came and swept the snow off our car the next morning and recommended fishing spots.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kachina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kachina Motel

Address: 2306 Highway 522, Questa, NM 87556
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Questa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Questa
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kachina Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.