We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southwest Road Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sky City Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sky City Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Sky City Casino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Interstate 40, Exit 102, PO Box 310, Pueblo of Acoma, NM 87034   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pueblo of Acoma
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Southwest Road Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at Sky City Casino Hotel since it was conveniently located to Acoma. The rooms were nice, the public areas were very casino focused. There is not much to do in the area, if you don't gamble, so, we spent a quiet night in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    35
    14
    18
See reviews for
36
93
16
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped at Sky City on our way to Phoenix in April, had a nice night. Beds were wonderful, people were friendly. The price was very reasonable and included a free breakfast buffet. Rooms were not luxurious but were very clean and roomy, lots of hot water. Casino was small, but nice. We enjoyed our night there so much, we made a point of stopping there on our way home a month later. Once again it was nice, the people were friendly, had a nice chat with the manager. I intend to make a regular stop there whenever I go to Phoenix to visit my Son.

Room Tip: ask for the 59$ room rate on Sun.-Thurs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went in with very low expectations after having read other reviews on this site and was very pleasantly surprised: yes, it is a casino (we were there on a Saturday night), yes, it has lots of trucks parked out front, but I had no issues with noise whatsoever and found the room very comfortable, with amenities that were appropriate for the price.

On a recent trip, we chose (and paid more for) two hotel rooms based on their location and proximity to attractions. This one was worth it! Very convienient to Acoma Sky City Pueblo. Staff were friendly, room was immaculate and comfortable.

I booked through a third party booking site, and was told that for that reason I did not get a complementary breakfast. I have not encountered that before, and it is pretty unreasonable. We just ate at the McDonald's which is right across the parking lot anyway.

Room Tip: Third floor was good- no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Chose to stay here so that we could make the 9:30 AM tour of the Sky City. We got a room on the third floor which was neat and clean. We noticed that the rugs in the hallways on the first floor were spotted.

Our room overlooked the gas station next door. I would ask for a mountain view the next time.
We ate at the restaurant in the hotel. Average food and very pleasant service. Pillows were on the skimpy side; bedding was great.

If you go on a Thursday night, the casino will double the amount of free plays you can get at the casino as a FIRST time visitor. We did get a free breakfast when we booked our room on line. Okay breakfast.

I would stay here again if I bring visitors to the Sky City because of the close location to the Pueblo.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was a nice place to stay while on the road. The room was clean, but not fancy. The walls are thin so you could hear noises. The casino was fine and the food was good. As a new players club member, we were given a discount on the dinner buffet and free breakfasts. We also got $25 free money to play on the slots. That was great. If we ever pass their way again, we might stay again. The staff was great, but the lobby was hard to hear in- back ground noise- made it hard to hear the man behind the counter.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the small side and there is NO constant fan to cover noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn ON.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sky City on April 13/13. We have stayed at many casino/hotels and found this one to be more expensive than most. The rooms were ok but nothing special and I was given the impression that a free breakfast buffet went with the room. I learned in the morning that we were eligible for a $5.00 cupon toward the buffet, which was ok but again nothing special, particularly for a casino. When we travel, we like to keep in touch with family via the internet and always make sure that wifi is available before booking. When we settled in the room, I was not able to connect. When I called the front desk, I was told that they were experiencing problems with the internet and the gentleman explained he was attempting repairs. I kept trying to connect but was not able to and finally gave up. In the morning I again could not connect, and when I explained this to the front desk I was advised that they were not aware of any problems. I did connect in the lobby and breakfast buffet and sent my messages. When I checked out and mentioned the wifi problems again, they said they were not aware of any problems. I reminded them that I had spoken to staff that were fully aware that a problem had in fact exsisted and did make attempts to fix it. I asked for some consideration, perhaps by way of a discount and they flatly refused. I do not appreciate the treatment and service provided.

Room Tip: If wifi is a concern, make sure it is working in your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lgrant2001, General Manager at Sky City Casino Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize you experienced all the difficulties with the internet. Also, we do offer a full breakfast buffet Monday through Friday complimentary when booking Best Available Rate. However, Sunday brunch we only offer two $5.00 off breakfast vouchers per room night for the following mornings. We have a made to order omelet station and offer an extensive variety of items on the Brunch Buffet. We apologize if you were not informed of this at check in. We hope you give us another chance. We value your feedback and will make every attempt to insure you have an excellent future stay with us!
Kind regards,
Laura Grant
Sky City Casino Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We had to pull in because of a snow storm,
The employees where so very nice. The rooms where very clean, beds where comfortable, pillows a little on the soft side but can live with that, since the rooms where clean and did not smell at all.
The casino was a lot on the hot side, I know it was cold out side but inside was like being In a furnace.
The buffet restaurant - we ordered from the menu, my husband's hamburger looked like a hamburger should, big and juicy, I had the beef soft tacos - yummy, very yummy-not at all what I expected. Decent choices for our free breakfast. So glad we stopped.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sky City Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky City Casino Hotel

Address: Interstate 40, Exit 102, PO Box 310, Pueblo of Acoma, NM 87034
Location: United States > New Mexico > Pueblo of Acoma
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pueblo of Acoma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky City Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sky City Casino Hotel where you’ll find over 650 of the newest and hottest slot and video poker machines, Las Vegas style table games, bingo and live entertainment. With fine accommodations and dining all in one place. Sky City is also a great choice for weddings, meetings and events. So whether you're looking for a night out or a weekend escape, the Sky's the Limit!Located 15 miles from Sky City Casino:Sky City Cultural Center Discover the traditional Native American culture and living history of Acoma Pueblo in New Mexico. The Sky City Cultural Center is the gateway to our Pueblo and Museum exhibits. Take a guided tour of the ancient pueblo village atop a 367-foot sandstone bluff, shop at the Gaits’i Gift Shop for beautiful Native American jewelry and Acoma pottery, have lunch in the Y'aak’a Café, or join us for feast day celebrations and other annual public events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sky City Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel Pueblo Of Acoma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sky City Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.