We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Portales

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Portales to your Saves list
Super 8 Portales
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1805 West Second St., Portales, NM 88130   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portales
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    17
    10
    2
See reviews for
35
6
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LAS VEGAS
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Good price for the stay i needed. Staff was very nice, room was good.
Beds weren't to comfortable. water pressure for shower was a little low
Would stay again if needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Super 8 Portales, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you were pleased with your room, value, and service experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback you provided in regards to the bed not being too comfortable. We noticed another recent review mentioned a bed comfort issue. We have sent you a private message requesting information to help us locate and, if necessary, replace any beds that have fallen short of our valued guest's expectations.

We value your thoughts and opinions, and look forward to future opportunities to provide you with the highest quality service and comfort that you so much deserve!

Sincerely,
Lisa Montoya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed overnight at this hotel while in Portales. The hotel had been recently remodeled and looked very nice inside & out. Probably the nicest looking Super 8 we've ever seen! The front desk personnel was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. The only negative comment is the smoke smell coming from the hallway (as mentioned in a previous review). Our room was several doors down from the smoking rooms but we were overwhelmed by the smell of smoke in the hallway and even in our room to a small extent. Had to open a window for a few minutes. Would highly recommend this hotel go smoke-free! Other than that, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay again.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, ask for a room as far away from the smoking rooms as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Super 8 Portales, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for submitting your review detailing your recent stay with us. We were delighted with your comments. We truly appreciate the wonderful things you had to say about our hotel, our staff, and your room. We also appreciate your feed back regarding the smoking odor in the hallway (as mentioned in a previous review). I can assure you that when we received the previous comment, we began taking steps to eliminate the problem, and when we received your mention of the smoking odor, we became even more diligent in finding solutions! Thank you for allowing us to add you to our growing list of valued guests. We look forward to your next stay with us, and you can look forward to a pleasant walk through a fresh hallway on your next visit! Sincerely, Lisa Montoya, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in Portales for Homecoming weekend and had a room on the 1st floor. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was very friendly at the desk and made the stay that much better. Newly remodeled and clean throughout. This was about $40 per night less expensive than Holiday Inn Express next door. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 125, a nice selection as it is away from the highway located in the back close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa M, General Manager at Super 8 Portales, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit this wonderful review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your opinion more than you can possibly imagine. Thank you for allowing us to add you to our growing list of valued guests at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Lisa Montoya, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Portales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portales

Address: 1805 West Second St., Portales, NM 88130
Location: United States > New Mexico > Portales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Portales 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Completely Renovated and Conveniently Located near Eastern New Mexico University and within a Short Distance of Several Fine Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Portales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portales
Portales Super Eight
Portales Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Portales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.