We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portales

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portales to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portales
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 West 2nd Street, Portales, NM 88130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Portales
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed three nights on business. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff was very gracious. Over all a very satisfactory stay. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to the area. Breakfast was very good and staff changed selections daily. Compaired to other simular hotels the breakfast selection was a big plus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your good review and we look forward to treating our guests with hospitality and a willingness to help. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
3
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madera, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The staff was wonderful. Britley checked us in, Debbie and Xavier helped with the extension of my stay. They were very busy Saturday due to ENMU graduation, and unfortunately only had one person taking care of the breakfast bar, but despite dealing with cranky people eatting a lot, she was very friendly and tried very hard to keep up (I don't recall her name.) Breakfast is only served from 6 am to 9:30 am, but it is a larger selection than other places. The young man who was working the front desk Monday morning (who's name I don't recall) was great - he was watching the breakfast bar, salting the walkway due to snow, greeting customers, answering phones and even used jumper cables to help a couple start their truck. When he asked if there was anything they could have done better he sounded like he was actually interested in the response.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room, otherwise you may hear the water (toilet, sink, shower) from the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comment and personal praise towards our staff. We are so glad you stayed with us here in Portales, New Mexico at the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here two nights in Aug 2012 while getting our son in ENMU. The cost per night was not worth it. They raise prices when activities are happening in town. The room was clean. Doors to enter via back/side of hotel were not working properly so we had to use main entrance to get back in hotel. Hot tub was not working properly. Many choices for Breakfast but alot of things were cold even in the warmers. Pancakes were difficult to even create.... then were like eating a piece of cardboard. Friendly staff and housekeepers. Will stay at again cause they have an indoor pool for our 10 year old...... just think they need to drop the prices some and improve Breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room, was quiet and window faced the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I am disappointed with you for these things you experienced while staying here with us. First off, we have had some problems all at once with our locks. As we speak, we've ordered new units and I want to apologize for that true inconvienence. I will be contacting the company that makes the pancake mix and sharing your complaint because I've heard others as well. We will look into the food warmer and troubleshoot that. I do appreciate this input and I apologize for the disappointment. I would really like you to call me about the spa issue. I'm not sure what the problem was while you were here. 575-356-4723.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

In town for a wedding....there is not much in Portales and certainly a limited number of motels. this Holiday Inn Express served our purposes and was better than I anticipated by a long shot.

Staff was great, friendly and helful.

Room very standard but clean.

Would stay here again....but never plan on being on Portales again!

Room Tip: The suite is not much more money...and worth the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We enjoyed your group so much while you were here for the wedding. We strive for excellence here at Holiday Inn Express. Even though you may not be back in this area we encourage your family to use the IHG brand for hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is the typical Holiday Inn Express, meaning they all look the same. I will say that it is clean and was quiet. The front desk personel is nice and listened. I did ask for a top floor room when I made the reservation on line, but didin't get it. The desk attendant said they were sold out. It is a little pricey for a small town, but I'm sure this is due to the oil and gas boom?

Room Tip: Request the top floor. These type hotels have very loud floors and anyone walking above you can bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Experiencedtrav07,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at our hotel. We do apologize that we were not able to accomodate your request. We do hope you will give us another chance next time you travel through Portales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times the past 3 years, as my child is a student at ENMU. The price has increased by over $50 a night since and the hotel continues to decline. This will be our last time to stay here. The hotel next door just completed renovations and charge $60 less per night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear HaroldD,

I am disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Our room here was very clean and pleasant. We enjoyed our free breakfast, with a nice selection of hot and cold foods. The staff was very nice. The room has all the amenities you need, free wi-fi, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. We stayed here because we were on our way to Clovis. It's fairly close and it didn't take us long to get to our destination. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portales

Address: 1901 West 2nd Street, Portales, NM 88130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Portales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Portales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portales 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Portales, New Mexico is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portales, conveniently located on US Hwy 70, just 1 mile southwest of downtown Portales and near Eastern New Mexico University, the Greyhound Arena and Stadium and Cannon Air Force Base. This beautifully appointed property includes 65 brand new overly spacious guest rooms that all offer free high-speed Internet, microwave and refrigerator, 27 TV, and coffee maker. Guests are also welcome to relax in the indoor pool and spa or use the fitness and business centers. Guests can also enjoy a unique breakfast experience at the new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM featuring scrambled eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon, biscuits, gravy, and our trademark cinnamon roll.Local businesses include: Abengoa Bioenergy, DairiConcepts, Southwest Cheese, Southwest Canners, and Western Dairy Transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portales Hotel Portales
Holiday Inn Portales
Portales Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.