We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Portales

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portales to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portales
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 West 2nd Street, Portales, NM 88130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Portales
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Friendly & comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

In town for a wedding....there is not much in Portales and certainly a limited number of motels. this Holiday Inn Express served our purposes and was better than I anticipated by a long shot.

Staff was great, friendly and helful.

Room very standard but clean.

Would stay here again....but never plan on being on Portales again!

Room Tip: The suite is not much more money...and worth the extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for the nice review. We enjoyed your group so much while you were here for the wedding. We strive for excellence here at Holiday Inn Express. Even though you may not be back in this area we encourage your family to use the IHG brand for hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
3
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is the typical Holiday Inn Express, meaning they all look the same. I will say that it is clean and was quiet. The front desk personel is nice and listened. I did ask for a top floor room when I made the reservation on line, but didin't get it. The desk attendant said they were sold out. It is a little pricey for a small town, but I'm sure this is due to the oil and gas boom?

Room Tip: Request the top floor. These type hotels have very loud floors and anyone walking above you can bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Experiencedtrav07,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience here at our hotel. We do apologize that we were not able to accomodate your request. We do hope you will give us another chance next time you travel through Portales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times the past 3 years, as my child is a student at ENMU. The price has increased by over $50 a night since and the hotel continues to decline. This will be our last time to stay here. The hotel next door just completed renovations and charge $60 less per night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear HaroldD,

I am disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Our room here was very clean and pleasant. We enjoyed our free breakfast, with a nice selection of hot and cold foods. The staff was very nice. The room has all the amenities you need, free wi-fi, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. We stayed here because we were on our way to Clovis. It's fairly close and it didn't take us long to get to our destination. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Visited Portales on a job interview and this hotel was my base of operations. Hotel was located just a couple blocks from Eastern New Mexico University, the biggest institution in the town. Staff was friendly and efficient. Pool, workout room, and business center were easily accessible and comfortably met my needs. Room was very comfortable and clean. Just a nice all-around experience and good value for the money.

Free wi-fi worked like a charm, which is always important to me too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

After checking a couple of reviews in Portales, this looked like a winner. Hubby had to go to some training and I went along for the ride. For 10 bucks more we reserved a suite with a sittng area, micro-fridge, 2 TV's, lounge chair in sleeping area, and nice view. Breakfast was great, with omlets and ham the first morning, then scramble eggs and sausage the 2nd morning with hot biscuits and gravy, cereals hot and cold, juice, fruit, yogurt, fresh sweet rolls. Very nice. There are also fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon. Complimentary paper. Very clean room, nice business center, but there is wifi in the room, staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back if hubby has more training.

Room Tip: They are pet friendly here. If staying for a few days pay the extra 10 and get a suite. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I simply liked it. Check in and out was a breeze. I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel, however, the room was very comfortable, breakfast was nice and the interaction I had with the staff was pleasant. I would stay again and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portales

Address: 1901 West 2nd Street, Portales, NM 88130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Portales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Portales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portales 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Portales, New Mexico is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portales, conveniently located on US Hwy 70, just 1 mile southwest of downtown Portales and near Eastern New Mexico University, the Greyhound Arena and Stadium and Cannon Air Force Base. This beautifully appointed property includes 65 brand new overly spacious guest rooms that all offer free high-speed Internet, microwave and refrigerator, 27 TV, and coffee maker. Guests are also welcome to relax in the indoor pool and spa or use the fitness and business centers. Guests can also enjoy a unique breakfast experience at the new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM featuring scrambled eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon, biscuits, gravy, and our trademark cinnamon roll.Local businesses include: Abengoa Bioenergy, DairiConcepts, Southwest Cheese, Southwest Canners, and Western Dairy Transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portales Hotel Portales
Holiday Inn Portales
Portales Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.