We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average For What You Pay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cities of Gold Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pojoaque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cities of Gold Hotel
Save
You added Cities of Gold Hotel to your Saves list
15 Mi North of Santa Fe, Pojoaque, NM 87501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pojoaque
Schaumburg, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Just Average For What You Pay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The room was quite nice. It was clean and had all the amenities. Was hoping the rate would be a little lower. It was $83 for a casino motel, which seemed quite high.

This is one of those motels where you have to walk through an outside entrance and then through the interior to get to the room. The interior hallway was a notch above many others with a nice atrium. But the card keys failed to work 90% of the time at opening the outer door. Very irritating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Many rooms were reserved for an event that was being held at the hotel. Right before event (4 days) we learned that a staff member released our rooms and we had none...ugly! We got that straightened out the day before we arrived, but it merely kicked other party members out of theirs...what a pain.

Sleeping was a challenge with small double beds and way too soft. But, the room was clean, but maintenance to reattach the towel holder that was leaning on the counter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this charming, out-of-the-way hotel located next to the cities of gold casino, part of the pojoaque pueblo near Santa Fe, NM. This is the second review of this property in the last three years...they have finished some renovations and upgrades. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and show that they want your business. The rooms are spacious, clean with fairly new carpeting. The king sized bed was firm and comfortable. The on-site restaurant featured money saving specials. Location is convenient, as we used the hotel as a base for touristing the Santa Fe and Taos areas. We were very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor kings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My construction crew begged me not to make their reservations again at this hotel. Our stay was over the course of month and each room was the same. Wallpaper was peeling badly in several places in each room, there were no outlet covers on several electrical outlets and shocked one of my guys, and the showers had mildew in them.

We spoke with the front desk without any response. The restaurant isn't much better and my crew refuses to eat there.

A complete disappointment! Do not stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pojoaque hotels

Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The room was dirty--mildew in the grout on the tub and dust and it was in need of repair. The wallpaper was coming off, the HVAC was missing knobs.etc. While the service was good, this place needs a good cleaning and upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This is terrible! I am disappointed ....i don't even know where to start. The place is completely run down. The room i am staying in (yes still here) a disaster. The wallpaper is peeling of the walls the lamp shade looks like its been chewed on by my pitbull, the blackout curtain looks like it has buckshots in it, the arm chair has tears in it, tv is old i asked for a room on the bottom floor as i am disable and they didnt have any...i made a reaervation a few days prior to my stay and was told it was not a problem. Also the walls are so thin you can here the people in the next room and the mattress you can feel every single spring in it.. Had i gotten this room free it would take away just a tiny bit of the eww factor not much but some....however since at check out i am paying for this room only adds insult to injury...harsh? Yes but true...never again will i make a mistake and book at this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming to this hotel for numerous years and have watched it decline I'm quality and service but this time it was "bad". They did not have our reservations, they refused to give us our promised promotional rate and had absolutely no competence at check in. In addition, they claimed we did not inform them of our pets and tried to charge $50 more for the room and asked us to move t a room with ripped carpet chewed walls and poorly cleaned. The lady manager and I'm stretching it to call her a lady claims we lied about the pets. The record of the dozen or so times we stayed before would clearly show that we always had our pets. So we were forced to leave and move to La Quinta in Santa Fe

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cities of Gold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cities of Gold Hotel

Address: 15 Mi North of Santa Fe, Pojoaque, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Pojoaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pojoaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 124

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cities of Gold Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.