We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVENLY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Save
You added Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HEAVENLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This place was amazing. If you are looking for a place to relax this is it. You must be comfortable walking around in your robes and bathing suits as that is how you will spend the day. If you are someone who can't sit still you won't find this to your liking. If, on the other hand, you are ready to be totally relaxed and quiet it is perfect. The spring baths are wonderful and the people very friendly. The food was good but portions a little too large. They also need to find a more efficient way of handing out towels before you enter the pools. If they are busy on the phone or checking someone in they can't seem to grab a towel and hand it to you at the same time. However, I would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    188
    60
    40
    25
See reviews for
61
313
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed for one night midweek in the historic hotel and lucked out because our room came with a toilet and sink (ask for that room, I think it is room 27). Apparently most rooms in the historic hotel have to share one of the handful of hallway bathrooms (their website says all have half baths, but if so, I'm not sure why there were two or three bathrooms in the hallways). Guests staying in the historic hotel also have to use the spa showers, so that is an inconvenience. The room was adequate but nothing special.

The spa/pools are very relaxing. A lot of posts here have comments about it being too noisy and rude staff. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Generally, the guests could have been quieter while in the pools. The point is to relax in peace.

Apparently the place is under new ownership and they are trying to make it nicer. They're on the right track. The grounds beautiful and most things seemed to be new or at least looking in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

we had a lovely private pool with a Kiva, it was very romantic, however we was a bit mislead. We had our choice of times to go, and since the sunsets in Taos are pretty spectacular, I had asked if we could see the sunsets from the private pools before we made a reservation. I was told by the woman on the phone that yes, you could see the sunset from ALL the private pools. So we made a reservation at 7pm. Needless to say, all we saw was one big rock, no sunsets, no colors. It seemed that all the spots were facing the same big rock. When i asked the lady who was guiding us to our pool, if we could be sure we can see the sunset from our pool, she was not helpful and would not comment. Not a huge deal, BUT we could not eat dinner that night because all the restaurants in town had closed by the time we finished and drove back. Missed one night of wonderful Taos food. Also the "Milagro wrap": even though it was cheap, do not bother. They just wrapped you in a towel and wool blanket, thats it. We were told by the lady who wrapped us, it's a good remedy if you get really drunk the night before..what??

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Front Office Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
My name is Jeannine Dolan, Spa Director at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. Thank you the information in your review and for bringing to our attention that our staff were not forthcoming with you about the view from the pools. The private pools, are built at the base of a cliff face; there are 3 walls with the fourth being the cliff itself. We apologize that we led you to believe that we offered a sunset view from anywhere in the springs.

The Milagro Wraps are best enjoyed once you have increased your core body temperature up by soaking in the springs or enjoying the steam room or sauna. We encourage our guests to first get really warm, and then enjoy the Milagro Wrap in which you are wrapped in a light cotton blanket, followed by a heavier wool blanket, to accelerate the release of toxins. Soothing music plays in the background as you lay swaddled in blankets. Most of our guests say how much they “love” the Milagro Wrap, so we are sorry to learn that the reviewer did not have a similar experience.

I would be happy to speak with the reviewer if he or she would like to contact me at jeannine@ojospa.com or (505) 583-3219.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Had a great night stay at Ojo Caliente in September 2010. We stayed at the historic hotel which was a bargain in consideration of admittance to the hot springs for the day of check-in and the day of check-out. I would say that the "air conditioner" was noisy and one of the queen beds was one of those memory foam beds which was WAY TOO HARD for me, I would definately come again. The 10" pizza we had at the bar for dinner was SO DELICIOUS. Another good thing about an overnight rather than a day stay is there are good hiking trails, it is deliciously quiet in the late night and early morning, and lying in the hammocks under the stars can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Although we did not stay overnight here, we spent an afternoon at the pool and spa. The High Desert Getaway was well priced - a private soak plus a massage for each. The pool scene was mellow. The private soaking tub faced some rugged, natural scenery - very unique. The massage was quite therapeutic. The facility - while not high end - was clean, comfy and appropriate. If day tripping make sure you bring your own post-spa toiletries. About an hour from Santa Fe, this was a really nice change and a good opportunity to soak in some great scenery (pun intended).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Ojo Caliente is located along a beautiful streatch of the Ojo Caliente River. The room rates are very reasonable. The restaurant is one of the best anywhere in New Mexico, and all the staff provided exceptional customer service. The various natural hot spring pools are wonderful and during the summer you can give yourself a treatment of mud and lie in the warm sun.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I purchased the summer special and stayed in a Cliffside suite for one night. This is a great place for adults to relax and reconnect. I would not bring children here.

The room: The Cliffside suite while being a very nicely decorated large room with two comfy chairs in front of a kiva fireplace was not a suite. The room smelled very strongly of wood smoke. The kitchenette had a microwave, small fridge, full set of dishes for 4, but shared one sink with the bathroom. The tub on our private patio was wonderful. The grounds in this area are nicely landscaped and the central area has two patios with hammocks.

The spa: We had massages that came with our package and arrived right on time for them. We should have arrived a few minutes early, but were not told to do so when checking in for our room. It took a few minutes for the spa person to check us in and then get on the table. I thought my therapist seemed rushed and I now I know why. Hour massages here are 50 minutes. She gave me a full body - which I requested – in 45 minutes. It was not a good experience. Take your chances if you decide to get a massage at Ojo.

The waters: Noisy guests did interrupt the otherwise quite morning. No staff made any attempt to ask anyone to be quiet. Other than that all of the waters were very relaxing and felt great. Be sure to "mud up" and then let it dry in the great New Mexico sun! My skin did feel very soft afterwards.

The waters/spa staff: a huge variation from incredibly helpful and knowledgeable; Archie at the spa is a delight! To "did this person get any customer service training????" . At Ojo's prices they need to step it up in this area.

The restaurant: The food and the service were wonderful. I would travel here (its 2 hours from my home) just to eat. The bus boy threw away my leftovers, but it was a miscommunication.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Front Office Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
My name is Max Hirano, Hospitality Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. Thank you for your many kind words about the resort. We apologize that you were not informed at the time of making your reservation, and again at check-in, the importance of arriving at the front desk to check in for a spa treatment 30-minutes to an hour prior to your treatment. This allows time for you to check-in, shower with soap before entering the springs, relax and soak in the springs or enjoy the steam or sauna before a treatment. The warm temperatures and quiet time will prepare you for your bodywork.

We include this information on our website and on our spa menu as late arrivals will result in a shortened spa treatment experience; we are reinforcing with our staff the importance of sharing this message with guests during the reservation and check in process. We continue to train our staff in customer service and appreciate the reviewer bringing these matters to our attention.

Unfortunately, your room smelled strongly of wood smoke because the previous guest “overbuilt” the fire in the kiva fireplace, which also set off our smoke alarm. This is not typical, and we normally will run an ozonator in the room to remove the smell of smoke.
We apologize that the “whisper” policy was not better enforced during your visit. We are working with all of our staff to better enforce the whisper policy. It is our intention that our guests enjoy a tranquil visit and we apologize that yours was not relaxing. Since your visit in September, we have implemented additional methods of reminding guests to whisper, including the use of signs which the spa attendants carry as they walk the pool area. The spa attendants are tasked with monitoring and enforcing this policy; please feel free to alert them or the Manager on Duty to noisy guests.

Please feel free to contact me to discuss this information or to discuss your experience. I can be reached at max@ojospa.com or (505) 583-3221.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.