We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be proactive to make the most of your day here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Save
You added Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Be proactive to make the most of your day here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Overall, a lovely, peaceful experience & we want to return, but our stay was not without annoying factors, the main which was lame customer service. We spent one night in the cliffside rooms (gorgeous) & ate all meals in the restaurant; delish and reasonably priced. Servers were very nice, but they were slammed every time we ate here. I don't think they have enough staff in the place. Also annoying--the automated phone tree when you are trying to reach a human. I left several messages and no one ever returned my calls. Ever. On the way up from Santa Fe, we called for clearer directions (we missed a turn off) but could not reach a human. Also, we were confused about what time our massages were scheduled (no one told us when we checked in) or where to go for treatments. (More than one option.) This seems to be a common complaint with spa-goers. No one knows what the hell is going on--there needs to be more direction from the staff about where to go when. My advice is to confirm and double check your appts. and reservations once you arrive on site and get clear instruction where to report. (Because no one will call you back if you try this prior to your visit.)Other tips: Ladies, do NOT wear a good bathing suit--wear an old one, because the minerals will fade/discolor your suit. Also, bring your own water bottle & use the water coolers in locker rooms so you don't have to buy water in the giftshop. The locals clearly knew what they were doing--they brought their own water, robes& towels--some even packed a picnic. Something to think about to save $$ if you aren't an overnight guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We appreciate your kind words, as well as letting us know of your concerns.

It is our mission to provide genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality to all of our guests. Regretfully, it would appear that we have fallen short of this objective on more than one occasion.
I welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns and welcome you to contact me directly at (505) 583-3221 or by email at eric@ojospa.com.

Please accept our sincerest apologies and know that we are actively working to remedy this. In addition to optimizing staffing levels and holding customer service-focused training sessions with our restaurant service staff, we will begin this winter an indoor/outdoor patio and kitchen expansion that should significantly enhance our ability to better accommodate our guests and small groups in The Artesian Restaurant & Wine Bar, especially during busy times.

We apologize also for the difficulty you had in reaching someone in our customer service department when you called. Our Guest Services Director and Manager have been made aware of this issue, as well as the need for our staff to offer more direction to our guests upon check-in. Additionally, we have our guest service agents calling guests prior to arrival to confirm their visit and scheduled spa appointments.

Please be assured that your comments are well received and are an invaluable source of feedback for us, and will be constructively applied as we serve our guests.

Thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the near future. I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
(505) 583-3221
eric@ojospa.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    187
    60
    40
    25
See reviews for
60
313
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our stay was just what we were hoping for. The room was spacious and comfortable, the hot springs relaxing, the food and the service good. We had one dinner in the restaurant and another in the bar and enjoyed the informality of the bar setting better. We liked using the Kiva Pool over the pools open to the general public. The grounds are well maintained and contain many different plants pleasing to the eyes. Fall would seem to be an excellent time of the year to visit.

Room Tip: Choosing a room in either the Cliffside, Pueblo or Plaza Suites will gain you access to a mineral sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Some coworkers and myself had planned a visit to the springs as a R and R get away.The drive was scenic and anticipation was high.So upon arrival I rented a locker and robe.The pools were hot and other guest were welcoming.We soaked and steamed.Needless to say we worked up an appetite.A pleasant getaway took a wrong turn quickly.We stopped at gift shop and headed for dinner.We did not make reservations and it was made clear that we would have to wait a couple hours.We gathered our own chairs up and gathered menus to only be set up to wait for a very flustered and over whelmed bartender Craig to acknowledge our presence.After a half hour wait in bar,no silver ware napkins drinks to also be put aside for a guest in a robe coming from room to jump right in to be served before us.Palma the host assured us a table would be read by eight thirty.We all work in the service industry.We we shocked and appalled as to how we were treated.We made our way to Palma the host to get a dinner menu.We sat at bar in clear view of sever.Guest were helping per bus and clean tables.Keeping in mind there are very little tables in bar area. We finally ordered our drinks as we watched new guest arrive timing there wait before he acknowledged them.Palma arranged for us to sit at table in bar as our appetizers arrived.We waited another our after move for food.Got up for new cocktails silver ware.Craig then attempted to bring out the wrong food.We were fed up and tired by then.Graciously Palma comes out with our order and offered a free dessert.Food was good once we received it.Too bad we had such an amazing day to be ended on such a poor note.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa, and apologize that the unsatisfactory service you received in the restaurant marred an otherwise enjoyable visit.

It is our mission to provide genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality to all of our guests. Regretfully, it would appear that we have fallen short of this objective on more than one occasion recently as it relates to service in the Artesian restaurant. Please accept our sincerest apologies and know that we are actively working to remedy this by optimizing staffing levels and holding customer service focused training sessions with our restaurant service staff.

We do have plans this winter to begin an Indoor/Outdoor Patio and Kitchen expansion that should significantly enhance our ability to better accommodate our guests and small groups in The Artesian Restaurant & Wine Bar, especially during busy times.

Thank you again for your patronage and taking the time to provide us with important information relating to your recent visit; we assure you that it has been applied constructively towards our ongoing efforts to maximize customer service and guest satisfaction at Ojo. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon and provide you with the genuinely gracious and accommodating hospitality that you deserve.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here in early September in a Cliffside Suite for one night and had an extremely relaxing two-day experience at the spa.

Massages ('Legends of Ojo' which we had booked in advance), the pools and the room were all terrific. The Cliffside Suites offer a secluded patio with private tub and a wonderful kiva fireplace in the room. Next to the suite (which is one large room with a comfortable king-size bed and a seating area) is a kiva pool reserved for the surrounding rooms. You have to walk about two minutes to get to the main spa with its diverse pools.

As for complaints by other reviewers when we stayed there we had neither problems at check-in which was fast and friendly nor were the pools crowded. However, you have to be aware that the pool area is public and not exclusive to the hotel.

Two complaints (and the reason why I am giving 4 and not 5 stars): Unfortunately the 'whisper only' and 'no cell' rules are not enforced by the staff and even if 90% of guests follow them, it only takes two people to ruin it. Secondly, the restaurant is lacking. While the food is good, although not special (perhaps we are just spoilt from Santa Fe), the service lacks attention and 'devotion' (not particularly friendly or personal, we never got the drinks we ordered, water was never refilled...). Furthermore, the restaurant atmosphere could be improved with nicer design and a more intimate structure.

But apart from that Ojo Caliente is an amazing and ultra-relaxing place and we will certainly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa, and are gratified to know that your experience here was an enjoyable and relaxing one.

Thank you too for making us aware of needed vigilance as to enforcement of the Whisper and No Cell Phone policies. Maintaining the peaceful and tranquil atmosphere of Ojo for all of our guests is our highest priority, and we will focus on these areas of improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The spa is an oasis from stress. The enviornment is quite and relaxing. The staff immediately responsive to any request. You can soak your troubles away in the numerous steaming, bubbling or cool pools. There are microfiber robes for your use and dry towels as many times a day as you need. The restorative yoga class was at a perfect pace for any level. There is some hiking in the area but the major activity is lying around doing as little as possible. The historic hotel is roomy, comfortable and quite. Its well worth a stay as you get entrance to the spa the day you arrive and depart. I would have stayed a week had time allowed. The restaurant was excellent with a wide variety of many unique dishes.

Room Tip: We liked the historic hotel. It was comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went up to Ojo for my 30th Birthday for some well needed rest and relaxation, stayed 2nights. Stayed in one of the Plaza Suites, nice clean room, beautiful patio with a lovely view. The private Kiva pool just for suite patrons was the best! Very quiet and not too many people. The other pools were also most wonderful, and the mud bath was refreshing and felt great. The restaurant had excellent dinner, the trout was fresh!! Service in the restaurant wasn't all that great at lunch one day, but the other times were real nice. Too relaxed to go hiking, but heard the trail is nice. Had an aromatherapy wrap and a massage, highly recommened! If you are looking for a nice place to kick back and be totally relaxed, this is the place!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Public Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are honored that you chose to spend your birthday with us, and are so pleased to know that you left happy, relaxed and refreshed.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved it !! After first considering a room in the Historic Hotel we booked the slightly more expensive Fall Retreat package. One night in a Plaza Suite, a private pool soak and a massage for each of us. This was the right decision. Plaza, Pueblo and Cliffside suites have use of the Kiva Pool which is off limits to day trippers. Other pools are crowded during the day (too much so for my taste) but the Kiva Pool and the suites' outdoor/patio/hammock area provide a secluded oasis. The "whisper policy" is a fabulous idea, eliminates screaming kids, rowdy adults and cell phone loudmouths. Massages with Kevin and Chris were wonderful and the private pool was a delight. The 9 am Yoga class is pure and basic, suitable for all levels, Yoga in a Yurt, what a great experience. We had a small service issue at the Wine Bar but just a minor glitch. Breakfast at The Artesian Restaurant was out-of-this-world!! Dulce de Leche Tostada, Oh My!!

Room Tip: Book a Plaza, Pueblo or Cliffside Suite, more expensive but quieter and more secluded with use of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.