We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine decadence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Save
You added Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa to your Saves list
50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Desertio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Divine decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Ojo Caliente resort and spa is located up the road from Espanola, NM, and is an oasis of hot springs and decadent dining not to be missed. Situated adjacent to the Rio Ojo Caliente near a crossroads of the same name, the springs offer a vastly upgraded setting for a romantic get-away or just some quality decompression time in the pinyon-juniper studded hills of northern New Mexico.

Rooms vary from small (the newly renovated hotel) to much larger in size, all with accommodations meeting a variety of needs/wants/desires. You will be greeted by smiling staff eager to hand you bathrobes and badges allowing you access to a variety of springs, ranging from arsenic (a good overall tonic for what ails you) to iron (a sure cure for fatigue) to lithium (for the ethereal feeling that a good soak will give you). Clients vary from young to old, sharing the common denominators of good spirits, congeniality, and the desire to sit in hot water until your toes resemble prunes.

On-site dining facilities are clean and modern, with excellent meals delivered quickly and with great courtesy. And remember to visit the round adobe barn and labyrinth just north of the spa. All in all, a lovely experience to be repeated sooner than later.
Neal and Claudia

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    211
    65
    42
    28
See reviews for
68
351
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My wife and I throughly enjoyed the variety of hot baths and warm hospitality. We stayed in one of the rooms, which was clean, spacious and quiet. The restaurant was also excellent, with a good variety of offerings and very good food. It all added up to a wonderful romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The pools, waters and rural country character provide a marvelous setting for a relaxing and memorable stay. We have been visiting Ojo for almost 20 years now and love the ambiance there as well as it's location near Santa Fe and Native American reservations. The place was recently improved, so the choices for rooms, mineral
spring therapy and dining are more diverse than ever.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer,CO USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were lucky enough to start a one week New Mexico trip by staying at this peaceful place and truly regretted having to leave. The springs are so perfect at night and the whole ambience lends itself to totally relaxing. What's not to love about a place where people are walking around or even eating dinner in their bathrobes? The food was the best we had all week and the room was small but very comfortable. Next time, more time there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

This resort was worth the travel from Chicago. A rustic yet well organized retreat. Nice bit of history blended with the modern world. The respect of maintaining the original hotel charm coupled with personal service renews one's faith that the technical world has not invaded every space. The menu could be expanded tho what is presented is done well. Peaceful. Kudos Ojo Caliente!!

Room Tip: Original hotel good for singles/couples. The mini suites would be more suited to larger groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Went with my best friend to celebrate my 30th birthday and we had a terrific trip!

The mineral baths were very relaxing and beautiful, native landscaping complimented the atmosphere. The mud bath was especially fun! Also really appreciated that the clientele seemed to be the plastic-surgery-not-necessary sort. I felt very comfortable!

For spa services we tried the facial which was nice but, in my opinion, not worth the $100 price tag. Also really enjoyed the Milagro Relaxation wrap---very reasonably priced. Yoga at Ojo was terrific---and in a neat dome shaped building on the beautiful spa grounds!

The resort has a no cell phone policy in the baths and public spaces which makes for a delightfully peaceful escape from our technology-cluttered lives; I was surprised how little I missed my Iphone!

We stayed in the historic hotel which was lovely in its simplicity. Beautiful cream and light green rooms; simple mission syle furniture; no televisions. Bathroom was tiny---as in you could wash your hands *while sitting on the toilet*. But the showers---in the resort, not the hotel room---were spacious and clean with beautiful natural stone and abundant fresh towels! My only complaint is that the hotel room window, not tightly screened in due to the window ac unit, allowed mosquitos to come in.

We had 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner in the Hotel restaraunt which was lovely! Food was tres gourmet with lots of veggie options. Portions were hearty and generally the food was healthy and very fresh! Loved the tofu scramble with avocado at breakfast; blue cornmeal pancakes were also delish!

A note for those on a budget: one evening we packed a champagne picnic that we enjoyed on the hotel's spacious porch; there were rocking chairs and small tables to accommodate us and atleast one other party was doing the same. The resort seems to welcome people who byo food/beverages.

Overall a great place; would go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The Casa de Ojo was perfect; great kitchen, lovely fireplace in the roomy livingroom, comfy bedrooms, clean bathrooms and such a great location - 2 minutes to everything. The locker room looked clean and the floors were not a threat. We loved the restaurant; tasty food, great service and reasonable prices. We enjoyed yoga 2 mornings; the classes are "led" not "taught". The pools were all very nice. Even tho' there are signs all over, "Whisper Zone", some people just can't help themselves. Spa services are very good, but expensive when compared to the regular services I get back home. We enjoyed one hike along the river. Ojo is a lovely respite; we hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.