We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Roberts Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mimbres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Roberts Motel
Save
You added Lake Roberts Motel to your Saves list
863 Hwy 35 N, Mimbres, NM 88049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mimbres
Corrales, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

As other reviewers have noted, in this part of NM you do not have a lot out there to choose from. Fortunately the Lake Roberts motel is a great place to stay, regardless! The owners clearly love their job and do everything to make you feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed in the little house-cabin rather than a regular room. Bathroom is beautifully remodeled. Nice kitchen. The cabin itself is cozy and beds are comfortable. Note that during the off season, there's really no place to buy groceries so the owners of the motel have stocked up on some basics in food and amenities that you can purchase at their office. Bonus: The Continental Divide trailhead is just a few miles back south along the highway.

Room Tip: For the tiny difference in price, you might as well spring for the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This motel has a very serene and quaint feel to it. It's owners are friendly and personable. If you're looking for a quiet spot far away in the mountains for relaxation, this would be a good choice. If you're just a tourist passing by, you might not appreciate the remoteness. That being said, that reflects only on the location, not the rooms or the service which are both good.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderful place to stay the weekend with our family. The kitchenette was just the right size and there was a huge covered picnic area where we could have a family reunion where grills and tables were available for guests. The best part was the owners, so kind and gracious! We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
453 helpful votes 453 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

You do not have very much choice when it comes to finding lodging in this area, especially if you do not want to pay an arm and a leg. This little motel is charming and the new owners are very enthusiastic, friendly, ready to help, and best of all very well organized.
We had room #1 closest to the general fireplace outside. It was pretty chilly at night and it was great to have a fire going on outside. The owners had made the area very nice with lamps, seating and plenty of firewood. The owner (guy) is also a great story teller. I really wish it was not so cold that night so we could have listened to more of his very inspiring stories from the past.
We stayed two nights in a self-catering studio room and it was equipped with everything that you needed for a comfortable stay: plenty of kitchenware, a fridge, stove, microwave, etc. We also liked the cowboy decorations some of which actually belonged to the owner himself! There was also a small porch area in front of your room and a play area for children. The motel was very close to the road, but there was hardly any traffic on the road, so it was not a problem.
If you come there to stay for a long time, you need to bring everything you need. There is a small store close by, but it does not have very much. Besides the prices are off the roof! You cannot blame the store owner because he has to make a profit out of what he had to bring all the way over there.
We would have liked the beds to be a bit sturdier, but they were not terrible. The owners have been there less than a year and they were constantly improving the place. They were always asking if everything was ok and if they could do something to make our stay better. He even said, “come knock on the door at 3 a.m. if you have to”. Such nice dedicated people!
Make sure you ask him about his adventurers in life. Very interesting man indeed! I am sure the lady is too, but I did not have a chance to talk to her.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Before the large hotel chains, there were owner operated motels and hotels that gave you the sense of being in someone's extended home. I was directed to the Lake Roberts Motel last Fall, when needing to stay in the area. The couple who have purchased the motel and call it home have created a wonderful retreat to stay and explore the lake, to fish, hike, visit the Gila Cliff Dwellings and just relax. With just 1/2 dozen rooms and a small house for rent, even when full, it is still a peaceful retreat. The rooms are spotless, decorated with love in a southwest theme, and complete with small fridge and microwave. They have installed wifi and my room had a tv. I'm writing this from the little table in front of my room and watching a family of Mule Deer grazing across the road, as dozens of hummingbirds fight over the six or so feeders in front of the rooms. There is a barbecue for guests and a restaurant down the road.
My only hesitation in sharing this secret is that when I want to come back and stay for a week the next visit, it may be booked and full! This is what accommodations were like when I was a kid! No massages, no luxuries - just comfortable rooms, wonderful surroundings, abundant wildlife, friendly and dedicated owners, and beautiful night skies. Who could ask for more?!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

After arriving in Lake Roberts after a long, hard day of bicycling along the Continental Divide we arrived in Lake Roberts to find the local store closed and the restaurant another 4 miles down the road (we were completely out of food after 4 days of camping along the trail). We checked in to the Lake Roberts Motel and found the new owner to be so very helpful and the room very clean (apparently newly refurbished) and very comfortable. Suffice it to say that the willingness of the owner to accommodate our plight went way beyond what we might have expected and made our short stay in Lake Roberts so much better than we initially expected. Can't say enough about how helpful he was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We traveled through Gila Natl forest....beautiful traveled hwy 35 to Lake Roberts motel. Found on the internet...A wonderful place to stay in the mountains..Room was very nice, clean and the owners were very nice to us...I would stay again here for serene, peaceful time in the mountains. But if the general store does not get a new owner..Bring food and drinks for your stay..A long drive to get these...They have microwave, refrig., and grill...So everything is there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Roberts Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Roberts Motel

Address: 863 Hwy 35 N, Mimbres, NM 88049
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mimbres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mimbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned business offering 6 motel bungalows and 1 (4 room) cabin. We are located in the Gila National Forest just 29 miles north of Silver City, NM. This is an outdoor paradise with endless outdoor activities including fishing, kayaking, bicycling, hiking, birding, hunting, and more. Visit the Lake, Cliff Dwellings, Hot Springs, pan for Gold, swim in the beautiful Gila River, or just watch the deer graze in our yard. Your stay here will be the most stress free time you'll ever have and give you a chance to drink our natural mountain water and breath fresh mountain air. Sit around the camp fire with your friends and family roasting marshmallows and hotdogs and gaze at the stars. You owe it to yourself to come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Roberts Hotel Mimbres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Roberts Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.