We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Stress Free Week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Roberts Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mimbres
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Roberts Motel
Save
You added Lake Roberts Motel to your Saves list
863 Hwy 35 N, Mimbres, NM 88049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mimbres
Leander, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Completely Stress Free Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I really needed to get away from it all. Having been to the Silver City area 15 years prior and falling in love with the Gila National Forest, I found Lake Roberts Motel on the internet and booked a weeks stay for my husband and myself. What a wonderful stay it was. Bill and Sharon were the best hosts and could not do enough for us. The room we stayed in was so welcoming. Bright, happy colors. None of your regular motel smells. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. The grounds are kept nicely and we took advantage of the BBQ's that were available for guests. We brought Teddy our Maltipoo with us and he became fast friends with their poodle Doc. I got some unbelievable pictures on this trip. So glad I found Lake Roberts Motel. We will stop in again. Hopefully it won't be another 15 years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

But that isn't really a big issue if you aren't in a hurry. It was well past there, but the drive is beautiful. That said, getting to and from Mimbres is not for the faint-hearted. To put it bluntly, I was terrified going through the pass over the mountain roads. My boyfriend had no problem with it, but he has been living in the west for 30 years now, and is used to it. I however, wanted to jump out of the jeep and walk a few times.

But the hotel and the area are soothing to the soul after such a journey!! The owners were extremely welcoming, although the place is for sale. I sure hope whoever buys it can compare to the current owners. The room was cozy, small but pleasant. A little patio with a iron table and two chairs are in front of each room and we were lucky enough to be surrounded by archeologists who were bringing back their finds and cataloging them outside nearby. We learned about Mimbres pottery and now want to head to Deming, NM to the Deming Luna Mimbres Museum to check out some of it.

The nearby lake was great for bird watchers and fishermen. Grebes and coots on the lake. Close up turkey vultures in the trees. HUGE wasps on the flowers. Boyfriend called them tyrannosaurus wasps. I thought at first they were huge black spiders. So cool. All kinds of wild flowers and cattails.

We only spent one night, but intend to go back for a longer stay sometime. This time though, I may take a xanax or a few swigs of whisky before allowing myself to be driven over those mountain roads again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't be fooled by the plain exterior; this is a classy place, very clean and convenient. They even gave us a sheet to cover the couch in our room so our dogs could sleep on it. Great location for Gila Wilderness roaming, one of our favorite hiking areas.

Room Tip: We loved the extremely comfy king bed---huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lake Robert's Motel is a great place to stay. Our room was huge and very clean. The owner is very nice and helpful. We stayed for three nights and really enjoyed it. This is a great location for visiting the Gila cliff dwellings, hiking, swimming in the Gila River, and and enjoying Silver City. Lake Robert's is a gorgeous backdrop for your getaway. And this motel is such a value! The beds were so comfy and the kitchen was well stocked and very clean. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, owner said it was the largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We drove by after 2 nights of camping and pulled over because of the allure of a bed and shower, but I was sure we would find it to be typical grungy motel. Instead we were happily surprised to find a clean, bright, renovated, attractive room. Even the small room included a small fridge, microwave and sufficiently sized table, as well as a king-sized bed. The owners were friendly and laid back. Not fancy (it's still a motel), but just what we were looking for. It was a happy accidental find.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed here the first weekend of October 1-3. What a quaint little motel with all the amenities. Also has excellent wifi service too as their is no cell phone service. Sharon was very helpful and friendly. Thank you for making our stay great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Family was trying to find a place to stay while fishing a couple of days at Lake Roberts. Originally I had wanted to stay at the Cabins that are next to the motel and was disappointed when they did not have the one I wanted becuase I wanted a full kitchen. So I "setteled" for the Motel instead. I am so very glad that this is where we wound up. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nicely decorated. We had everything that any nice hotel would have and were less than 10 minutes from the Lake. We are already trying to figure out when we can go back. Only disappointment was that we did not catch any fish; everyone around us did though. I would recommend this for anyone wanting to visit the Cliff Dwellings and do some fishing and hiking.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Roberts Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Roberts Motel

Address: 863 Hwy 35 N, Mimbres, NM 88049
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mimbres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mimbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned business offering 6 motel bungalows and 1 (4 room) cabin. We are located in the Gila National Forest just 29 miles north of Silver City, NM. This is an outdoor paradise with endless outdoor activities including fishing, kayaking, bicycling, hiking, birding, hunting, and more. Visit the Lake, Cliff Dwellings, Hot Springs, pan for Gold, swim in the beautiful Gila River, or just watch the deer graze in our yard. Your stay here will be the most stress free time you'll ever have and give you a chance to drink our natural mountain water and breath fresh mountain air. Sit around the camp fire with your friends and family roasting marshmallows and hotdogs and gaze at the stars. You owe it to yourself to come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Roberts Hotel Mimbres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Roberts Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.