We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Mesilla

Cafe de Mesilla
2190 Avenida de Mesilla, Mesilla, NM 88005
+1 575-524-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Mesilla
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Cafe de Mesilla offers locals and tourists from throughout the world the finest locally roasted coffee and espresso, delicious French pastries, as well as full breakfast and lunch menus in a very relaxing and artful environment. Come by and experience authentic European style espresso or amazing piping hot coffees and specialty teas from all around the world in our friendly free Wi-Fi connected cafe. We are a two minute walk from the Plaza and have ample parking and a pet friendly patio. We offer a wide selection of hand painted Polish Pottery as well.
Mesilla, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My favorite cafe in Mesilla has moved a few blocks from the old Plaza to 2190 Avenida de Mesilla on old highway 28. Love the lattes! Love the secret recipe tuna salad and the tomato basil soup for lunch...new on the expanded menu are lovely salads and hot breakfasts in addition to French pastries. Yum yum!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great coffe place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Clean friendly cafe in an historic adobe building in Old Mesilla, Las Cruces. Run by the owner who is very friendly and focused delivering a great cup of coffee, sandwiches, soup and pastries. Very clean and inviting indoor and outdoor seating. Good parking.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The breakfast was excellent; we had eggs, bacon, toast, potatoes and coffee. We were served good-sized portions and everything including the coffee was delicious. There was real cream for the coffee which is increasingly hard to find. The service was pleasant and we enjoyed sitting in the eclectically decorated rooms. A place to go back to again and again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect chill out place in Mesilla”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This review is a bit overdue by about 4 months. Heard about the interesting Old Mesilla Plaza and its Basilica so detoured here. After spending a pleasant hour or so, the wife and I were in search of a meal/coffee break and chanced upon this lovely cafe just next to the Basilica and adjacent/connected to a gift shop.

It's a perfect place to unwind with its walls decorated with outstanding local art. Couple this ambience with great sandwiches and exquisite brews and you can easily spend another hour or so. You can also order non-sandwich meals - just ask.

Joyce, the owner, is a friendly soul who has travelled around the world and will put you at ease with her easy banter. I think we were her first customers from Singapore!

No hesitation in recommending this place. A godsend after a hot day walking around the plaza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The ambiente - oh lala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The cafe is part of the beautifully restored historic district Mesilla, Las Cruces. We went there for lunch - had sandwiches that were very good. But the cafe is much more about atmosphere and ambiente - each piece seems to be handpicked, is tasteful, and adds to the warmth of the establishment. There are not many tables to be had (but the owner will move this month to a bigger place - good for her and her customers) but of course this adds to the personal touch as well. during our lunch we had a very interesting talk with one of the other customers and with the owner, Joyce. We left the cafe with some dollars less but with the feeling of having had one of these perfect hours which last a lot longer than your vacation.
(PS: If you love Polish pottery - this is the place to go to)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Mesilla also viewed

 

Been to Cafe de Mesilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe de Mesilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.