We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peppers Cafe--Great food, great margaritas, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Eagle Restaurant

Double Eagle Restaurant
2355 Calle de Guadalupe, Mesilla, NM 88046
(575) 523-6700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Mesilla
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Peppers Cafe--Great food, great margaritas, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

After two nights camping in Joshua Tree (CA), we were rather grubby and very tired when we drove into Las Cruces at about 8pm. Where could we get great local food without changing out of our hiking boots and baseball caps? Answer: Peppers Cafe, located in the indoor courtyard of the Double Eagle Restaurant, Old Town Mesilla. Order the Chile con Queso and the Big Jim Chile Relleno. Or the Plato San Juan or Juarez. Don't forget the margaritas--on the rocks, lots of salt. And enjoy the ambience of Old New Mexico as you tantalize your taste buds.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    51
    29
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ill for two days!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have been going to this restaurant for 10 years, enjoying the beautiful setting of the historic hacienda, the indifferent service and food best described as ordinary. When we had few other choices we took visiting family there for an evening meal, everyone decided to have Tularosa salad. Not very tasty, but we were all trying to have a good time and enjoy the atmosphere. The very next morning we all wakened with the symptoms of food poisoning and spent two days being sick. The effects are still lingering after three days. We called management to alert them that there had been a problem and were met with the same indifference as the service in the restaurant. I could never recommend this restaurant for dining, just walk inside and see the beautiful decor, then go find food at another place.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Ate at Peppers Grill - inside the Double Eagle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Recently made our first trip to the Old Mesilla historic village in Las Cruces. We wanted to try one of the more popular local eateries and we finally decided on Peppers Grill inside the Double Eagle. The Double Eagle is the "fancy" section and the Peppers half is the casual dress side. Overall we had good service and enjoyed our meal. As we had walked around Mesilla trying to decide on a place to eat, we viewed several packed places where it appeared they were shoveling out the standard Mexican fare. Plus, we wanted something a bit less crowded and without the vinyl tablecloths. Peppers seemed to fit the bill. A bit more upscale - where one would wear their "good jeans." There was a very short wait. The ambiance was casual. There was a roving maricahi band if you cared to be seranaded. Most there seemed to be couples on date night. We had cheeseburger, beer and onion rings, and my wife had a standard enchilada plate. The meal came with chips/salsa. Overall our food was good, but not great. However, I would order their burger again. Prices were standard on the Peppers menu. We kind of expected a bit more from our meals since the kitchen also prepares meals for the high priced Double Eagle part of the facility. We might go there again, but would likely try some of the other places just for the sake of trying other places. Our service was good. We enjoyed the atmosphere and ambiance. It was nice to have a (sort of ) quiet place instead of fighting the crowds at the other joints in Mesilla. It worked for us that night.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and I went to the Double Eagle for our date night on a Saturday. Yes, the steaks are quite expensive, but everything else is very reasonable. We had a lovely time. Our food was delicious and our service was fine. I would return anytime!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch--Bad service, mediocre food, go somewhere else!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

What a shame-- as a native of Las Cruces, I wanted to share this gorgeous place with my visiting relatives. We went for Sunday Brunch and it was very disappointing. Basically you are given a plate to eat as much as you want, so there shouldn't be bad service, as you serve yourself. Well, the waitstaff that were serving the waffles, omelettes, etc, were so unfriendly, maybe bc they were short staffed. The lines to get food was very long (15 mins in line to get an omelette!). The room where the food was served was smoky and hot and did not have ventilation. Yuck.
The orange juice was watered down and when I sent it back the waiter was very rude.
The quality of the food was very poor and the serving stations were disgusting, ie: not clean. I will never return. I was embarrassed by this place as I had talked about it all week -- I quickly took my visitors to the surrounding shops in hopes they would forget about the experience quickly.Luckily a stroll around gorgeous Mesilla can charm anyone.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Eagle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Double Eagle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Eagle Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.