We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At twice the price is it twice as nice?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josefina's Old Gate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mesilla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Josefina's Old Gate
Save
You added Josefina's Old Gate to your Saves list
2261 Calle de Guadalupe, Mesilla, NM 88046   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mesilla B&B and Inns
Chicago
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“At twice the price is it twice as nice?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hey, before we get too far into thread counts, am I the only one who noticed that this place is twice the price of the competition??? The good reviews for this place were reassuring, but why oh why so high? Well, I took the gamble and have now been there and back and.....YES, it is fair market value.
The issue, I believe, is that there is not really any place in Los Cruces to compare it to; if the same facility was in any other city, you would have a bargain. Compared to ABQ, SF, or my hometown Chicago...well such a deal!!!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, I picked the queen because the descriptions made the scale seem more intim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Mn
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Kathleen, who owns and operates Josefina's, uses nothing but the finest for her accommodations and her restaurant. The sheets are silken, the towels fluffy, the ingredients for the fine food is the freshest and it is a winning philosophy. This is a wonderful place to stay and to eat. It has a beautiful patio and we look forward to returning..especially for another bowl of posole and fresh baked goods.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I spent New Year's weekend at Josefina's Old Gate Inn in Mesilla, New Mexico. Our King room was the size of a large suite and the Kiva fireplace was situated in front of the bed where we lit a log and kept cozy and warm. Linens were silky and the comforter very luxurious for the cold nights. In front of our entry was the historic town square which was lit with Christmas lights and the church's bell rang out at different times during the day. This was a charming and wonderous holiday stay for both of us. It was unexpected since I wasn't familiar with this part of New Mexico, but the reviews of Josefina's Old Gate Inn enticed us to stay. It was a welcome and positive surprise to bring in the New Year in such pleasant surroundings. The proprietor is available to welcome you to her lovely inn.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. I chose the King suite because it had a window to the front and I like nat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

..Has to be the nicest place Ive ever stayed. Had the queen suite & loved it. Has a beautiful private patio/sitting area with a beautiful SW garden. As a guest, you have rein of a beautiful kitchen and can tour the shop at your leisure. The staff/owners were very pleasant and accomodating. You also have a very secure private parking area for your car--a commodity in old mesilla. A little more money than places down the road, but worth every penny!

Room Tip: Make reservatons long in advance-sometimes hard to get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two evenings in Josephina's historic inn on the square while visiting Las Cruces area and was not disappointed. Mesilla is 'old New Mexico' and the buildings feel like a step back in time with 21st century amenities. Our stay was in the king room and it was charming, quiet, clean and the bed comfortable. The restaurant attached to the Inn is available for breakfast with a discount. Since our stay included a Monday when the restaurant is closed, we found The Bean around the corner stood in quite well. We would definitely stay in Mesilla in Josephina's again.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Queen room for two nights. The property is clean and well cared for. Highlights included the restaurant area's patio and the fact that we were in the middle of Mesilla and could walk everywhere. Mesilla is certainly a more interesting place to stay than Las Cruces. I'm not giving this property five stars because it wasn't an "out of the park" experience, but I certainly wouldn't hesitate to refer a friend here. It's a nice place. If you like antiques, you'll love it here, by the way. And if you like to walk, head to the irrigation canal near the pottery studio, and head out among the neighborhoods and pecan orchards.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My partner and I spent two nights in the Queen room for our 10th anniversary. There are two rooms available; the King and Queen suites. We chose the Queen room due to its "coziness". What a wonderful historic place to celebrate. Everyone there was so helpful and extremely friendly. They tended to every need we had (not many). We highly recommend to anyone looking for a quaint, peaceful, warm and friendly place to stay in Old Mesilla or the Las Cruces area. Our favorite breakfast item was the "Bowl of Pappas". I'm going to try and recreate it at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Josefina's Old Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Josefina's Old Gate

Address: 2261 Calle de Guadalupe, Mesilla, NM 88046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mesilla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mesilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint adobe house known simply as “Josefina’s” has long been a symbol of warmth and welcome on the Historic Old Mesilla Plaza. Josefina’s is aptly named for the dynamic and outgoing woman who lived here for nearly 35 years and established the Luminaria Tradition of Mesilla. Dating back to the early 1900’s this home has served as a place to gather, socialize, and celebrate. This tradition lives on as “Josefina’s” opens its gates to the community and visitors of Mesilla.Once the site of holiday open houses and afternoon get-togethers, we now invite all to relax, spend time with friends and family, and enjoy the plaza in an intimate and comfortable setting. Whether you are gathering for a tea party on our patio, a luncheon in our café, celebrating a special anniversary in our Historic Inn, or shopping for that “must have” at Old Gate Antique’s, you are sure to find the warmth of Southern New Mexico charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Josefina`s Old Gate Hotel Mesilla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josefina's Old Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.