We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like always we enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Fort Davis, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Like always we enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have stayed here several times. We always enjoy it. The setting is beautiful and we have always been treated well. I do prefer the lake view. The lobby and all the different sitting area are very relaxing and always clean.

Room Tip: We prefer the lake view. The mountain view just does not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    138
    86
    55
    52
See reviews for
105
202
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel/casino has good covered parking and the elevators are easily accessible. We had a lake view with a balcony- the only way to stay! Mountain view rooms do not have any view at all. Our room had two queen beds, micro, refrig, coffee and teas. The check-in process took a very long time and the front desk staff are not friendly at all. Twice I witnessed the front desk staff aruging with clientele that were checking in. They also do not smile at all! Our room was on the 4th floor and did not smell like smoke although the smoke from the casino permeated throughout the building. Not much as far as dining choices. The buffet was lacking. I was able to get it for free through the rewards card and was glad I did not have to pay for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

To begin, I am somewhat of a hotel connoisseur as I travel frequently and stay at between 10-20 hotels annually. I will begin with the pros before I get the the bad stuff.

Pros :
1. The casino is beautiful, fun and lively.
2. The hotel is within close proximity to midtown.
3. Beautiful Indian scultpures and paintings adorn the hallways.

Cons :
1. This hotel underwent a major renovation in 2007 and nothing has been done to keep the place up. I went after the renovation during 2007 and the place was absolutely gorgeous - fresh flowers, waterfall outdoors running, immaculate golf course, spotless rooms. Unfortunately this is no longer the case.
2. Empty tables without any decorations.
3. Brown spots all over the golf course.
4. Waterfall is "no longer in service."
5. Rooms have seen their better days - spots on carpet, streaks on wood and bathroom surfaces.
6. Food at the "Gathering of the Nations" has been extremely limited from my past visits, with an extremely small produce and dessert bar, with half of the desserts being "sugar free." In fact, there were more sugar free desserts than regular desserts. A regular cheesecake or tiramisu were not offered, both were sugar free.
7. THE WORST PART OF MY VISIT WAS - THE STAFF. This place prides itself on being a four diamond resort. However, the staff is RUDE, RUDE, RUDE.
8. EXTREMELY UNDERSTAFFED - During my memorial day weekend visit, there was only 1 front desk clerk and 1 concierge member manning the entire hotel during the peak season. Service was also extremely slow at the restaurants as well.


Please spend your money elsewhere. This place has really gone down the tubes.

This is not a four diamond resort. I wholeheartedly would have been happier at the Super 8 down the road.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mescalero hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but did go to the casino and lobby area. The hotel setting is wonderful with a big lake and golf course and the lobby area is nice. There was a big bikers rally going on so the hotel and parking was very crowed. The casino is fairly large with plenty of machines but they were very tight. Not a bad place to go for an evenings entertainment, but do not expect to get rich.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our room has a beautiful view of the mountains, and some of the lake. It was too bad they put us on a smoking floor! Everything really smelled badly upon arrival. We had to keep our patio door open much of the time to get fresh air. The beds/bedding was very comfortable; but with burn holes in the carpet and some of the wallpaper in the bathroom badly scraped (some peeling off), you can tell these rooms haven't been "refreshed" in awhile. The television choices were minimal (no in-room or pay-per-view movies to choose from). The gym was small but functional and overlooked out onto the indoor pool which was entertaining with all the families there over the Memorial Weekend. The in-room dining was one of this hotel's best features! We ordered a breakfast and a dinner...both were wayyyyy better then expected...highly recommended!! Stay away from the casino, though, these were the "coldest" slots I have EVER experienced! Try the small casino out at the reacetrack...you'll fair much better, on the whole. And, if you do play here, you won't get much in the "rewards for playing" category. Normally, we get fully comped based on play...here, very little was given. The retaurant, Wendals, wasn't very good either ($70 lb. crab) and it wasn't very fresh. Sorry!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake. Mke sure you request a non-smoking room if you are not a smoke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, N.M.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rating "Very Good" based on our recent (brief) visit. The mountain setting and fantastic Artwork throughout the Inn rate a very good on their own. We had hoped to see Smokey Robinson at their concert venue, but the event was cancellled (TicketMaster handled refund flawlessly, with no effort from us, prior to our receiving notice). Visited the Inn anyway, for a look around and an evening cocktail. The setting is wonderful and fantastic art (sculptures and paintings) fill many spaces. I've read the complaints of the stench of cigarettes and cigars- RU kidding? it's a frickin' Casino. We walked through and yep, smelled like most casinos. But, down the hallway and downstairs from the Hotel Lobby is Wendels Restaurant, and across from that (beyond the gorgeous fountain) is Wendels Lounge. Both offer expansive floor to (very high) ceiling views of the lake, mountains and pines. We didn't notice an odor of cigarettes. Each space was beautifully/comfortably furnished. The service in the lounge was good, prices were a bit high (Again, shocking? No! It's a frickin' casino!). We were between seasons (May), but maintenance and cleanliness were subpar in my estimation. We'd have spent some time outside the Lounge on the big patio that fronts the lake, but there was a lot of bird poop and chairs/tables were in disarray. I'd go back, just for a more relaxed view of the Artwork and surrounding terrain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This 273 room property owned by the Mescalero Apache tribe, set in the mountains near Ruidoso, NM, is worth a night's stay, Room with balconies, over look a trout-stocked lake. To one side is a golf course, to the other forest. There are plenty of walking trails, if you like the outdoors. If you are into gaming, the casino is attached to the hotel. Good food is available at Wendall's on the 4th floor (actually below the entry which is on the 5th floor. There is plenty of parking. The hotel is a bit worn, but well operated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.