We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful mountain retreat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino
287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Rosemount
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain retreat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after a two day drive from MN. Serene, peaceful, great hospitality. Nice rooms, quiet and comfortable. Bar has great food, buffet is so, so. Good prices. This is our third time here and we are always happy here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    157
    91
    58
    58
See reviews for
117
230
9
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn however the first time we stayed in Ruidoso. This time we looked up their web site and saw they had a special rate for Sun-Thurs (I believe) for $79 a night. Ends up total fee with taxes, etc was $99 still for a Standard Room with King sized bed which is ypically $119 + fees, etc. Walking into the main entrance and heading toward the reception area you get a full panorama of the mountain and lake..awesome. Check in was easy and we were there about an hour ahead of check in however the clerk found us a room that we could get in right away. Great room with plenty of space, king bed, table, two chairs, etc. Two robes available for use while there (and of course an option to buy.) A patio with a couple chairs and small table with a full view of the mountain and lake..and at night a great show in the sky with a clear view of the stars.

We ate at Wendells Restaurant which is located in the main facility. Food was excellent. I had the European Quali and my wife had the stuffed shrimp. The plates looked like art and the service was excellent as well. Nice evening. The next morning we had breakfast there. The food was good and priced appropriately.

We plan to come back closer to the summer time frame when we can better use the walking paths, horse rides, and fishing at the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! We upgraded to a room with a view of the lake and it was well worth it! The room was spacious, clean and very nice....almost new looking! The front desk was short staffed and it took awhile to check in/out, but they were very friendly and helpful! It was our 20th anniversary and we were surprised with a small arrangment of flowers waiting for us in our room! It was so relaxing and just what we needed to decompress! Definetly will visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Inn of the Mountain Gods for 2 nights. We booked the "escape package" for
$99 which included room, 2 breakfast buffets and 2 drinks at Wendell's Lounge. The second nite is only $49! Walking into the Lobby is breathtaking. The view with huge windows is looking at the lake with the snow covered Mountains in the background. The rooms are very nice, we had a balcony with a spectacular view. The spa in the pool area is huge.
This hotel is great

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is beautiful, but, the smell of stale cigarette smoke,everywhere, lobby, halls, restaurants ,pool just ruined it for us. This place is a smokers dream, but for those who don't smoke, you will by the time you leave. We will NEVER stay there again! Inn of the mountain gods, thanks for bronchitis!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mescalero hotels

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time...the room was very nice. It has a nice view of Sierra Blanca. The only downside was the bathtub - it didn't drain properly. I talked to the clerk at the front desk about the problem. Apparently they came and fixed it while we were out of the room. But when I used the shower the next day...it still didn't drain properly. The casino is very simple...has a variety of slots to play. The hot tub was very nice especially after skiing all day. There is also a indoor pool/fitness center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We go to the casino about once every 3 months. We've stayed at the casino about 4 times and not once has it been pleasant and relaxing. The staff is rude, especially at check in, they just don't care, figure there's more people to replace you. If they get your reservation right, you're LUCKY! Wait in check-in line every time is rediculous, ranged from 30 min to 90 even when it's not that busy! There is a concierge desk but not once have we ever seen anybody there, ever. We will never stay again! We booked our last stay online. When we got there after waiting 45 min just to check in, instead of giving us 1 room w/ 2 beds they booked us for 2 nights w/ 1 bed. And this was a night w/ a poker tournament going on. After arguing w/ the lady for 15 min (and the line growing behind us) she told us to wait for the manager. After another 15 min wait for him to show up he finally switched our reservations, which took another 15 min. We get to our room and it is a 1 bed room (were supposed to get 2). we called again and they said there were no more 2 bed rooms available at all, but they would send up a rollaway FREE OF CHARGE (like that was some prize). After arguing with her for 5 min I said fine but you will have to send up 2 because we have 2 kids and the rollaways are small and made sure to mention that this was no fault of ours. We told them to just bring them in the room becaue we were leaving to eat. When we got back, there was only 1 rollaway. Called back downstairs, very mad at this point and had them bring up another one. Not during this whole thing did anybody appologize once! There is no fridges or microwave in the "luxury" hotel rooms either. You have to request them and if you're lucky you get them within 5 hours and they expect a tip. The rooms aren't even that nice. There is no free breakfast. Don't bother w/ the buffet. we got free tickets for it, went to the dinner and it was disgusting, everything looked great, but there was no flavor to any of it. Won't even bother eating there for free again! You never see anybody win on slots ever. Their small bar is always packed, the drinks are $ rediculous and taste like they're watered down, and again staff are unfriendly. We stumbled across 2 polite people, 1 at the pool and a waitress we asked for directions I think at Wendells, THEY SHOULD PROMOTE THEM! We left the next day and stayed at a hotel across from the race track for 1/2 the price, rooms were just as nice, free breakfast was awesome and staff are way friendlier (and they allow pets)! You should also know there are 2 casinos to the Inn of Mt Gods, one is the big hotel/casino and the other is down the road, like a rest stop gas station casino. At the rest stop casino people were way friendlier but it was also smokier. We'll go back to the casino just because it's the closest one that has table games, but never stay at the hotel or eat there again.

Room Tip: If you still decide to stay I wish you luck. Make sure you get a room w/ a balcony and view because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino

Address: 287 Carrizo Canyon Rd, Mescalero, NM 88340
Location: United States > New Mexico > Mescalero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mescalero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCE A RESORT AND CASINO THAT IS ABOVE AND BEYOND. New Mexico’s premier mountain resort awaits with impeccable service, mouthwatering cuisine for every palate, incredible gaming action, and breathtaking alpine scenery to nurture your soul. Situated high in the picturesque mountains of Mescalero, New Mexico just outside of Ruidoso, guests return time and time again to Inn of the Mountain Gods to enjoy the clean mountain air, stunning panoramic views, and exciting entertainment options. Upon your arrival, you’ll be greeted by a stunning lobby featuring a sweeping view of the snowcapped mountains, lake and championship golf course. Guests have come to expect all of the little extras that come standard here at Inn of the Mountain Gods. From the moment you arrive, you’ll be enchanted by original works of art throughout the property, roaring fireplaces in the lobby, and a tranquil setting that makes the everyday world feel a million miles away. Beyond that, discover an endless variety of activities, entertainment and escapes to make it a getaway you’ll never forget. 273 LUXURY ROOMS AND SUITES, NUMEROUS DINING OPTIONS FROM A SIGNATURE STEAK AND SEAFOOD RESTAURANT TO A SCRUMPTIOUS BUFFET, 40,000 SQUARE FEET OF MEETING SPACE, 38,000 SQUARE FOOT CASINO, INDOOR POOL, A FULLY EQUIPPED WORKOUT FACILITY, SKIING AND SNOWBOARDING, 18 HOLE CHAMPIONSHIP GOLF COURSE, BIG GAME HUNTING, SKEET SHOOTING, HORSEBACK RIDING, FISHING, GONDOLA RIDES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Mountain Gods Hotel Mescalero
Hotel Of The Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Inn
Inn Mountain Gods
Mountain Gods Hotel
Of The Mountain Gods Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Mountain Gods Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.