We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollar

The Hollar
2849 State Highway 14 N, Madrid, NM 87010-9751
505-471-4821
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Madrid
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Always good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

When I travel to New Mexico I love going to Madrid for the quirky galleries and the Hollar.
Like everything in Madrid it is a bit edgy but oh so very good. Great meals waffles and chicken, shrimp and grits, pulled pork biscuits, all so very good. Things are made when you order so they are not as quick as other restaurants and they tell you this on the menu. The wait staff is great, friendly and always checking on you. I will be back. Love the Hollar!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    39
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Great Patio with really delightful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have been to The Hollar a few times and have always had a great meal with great service. A very laid back place, just like Madrid. The staff are friendly and very attentive, which always makes a meal enjoyable. Their food has a slight southern thing going on, the fried okra and frid pickles are wonderful. I had the fried green tomato and goat cheese salad...yumm! If you are down in Madrid for the day, this is the place to go for lunch.

I will add, that the flies are annoying, but this is the month for them in New Mexico. Other than that, a super place ( but what could they do about flies anyway?)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting food....but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We did enjoy our outside patio lunch at The Hollar but have a couple of reservations about going back. The flies around our table were so irritating we had to keep swatting everything. Also there happened to be people smoking all around us and we didn't notice that when we sat down. I had wished we chose a far away table! Our waitress was very nice and our food was a bit pricy but good quality. I would return again,maybe sitting inside or a different table situation. Actually I would return for just the cheesy grits alone!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed the outside atmosphere and the service was very good. The tuna and the warm goat's cheese salad were excellent. The portions were huge, I felt they could service a smaller portion and everyone would be still happy. Everyone we noticed including our party could not eat their full meal. We will visit again on out next trip through.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stop in Madrid every other weekend or so on our way to and from santa fe. We usually eat at the mine shaft but wanted something different this time. $3.50 for a glass of unremarkable lipton iced tea? The prices are ridiculous. ..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hollar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.