We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath of fresh air.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wortley Pat Garrett Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wortley Pat Garrett Hotel
Save
You added Wortley Pat Garrett Hotel to your Saves list
Highway 380, Lincoln, NM 88338   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln
Cramlington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Wortley Hotel a few weeks ago for one night during our 3 week road trip. Our hosts, Cathy and Vic were very friendly and welcoming, especially Cathy, who felt like a long lost auntie by the time we left.
We arrived on a day when the dining room wasn't open and thought we'd have to drive to the next town for dinner. But Cathy assured us she'd 'scrounge something up' for us.
Well what she 'scrounged up' was the best meal we had all holiday! A gorgeous home made meat sauce with spaghetti and salad. And after a bad run of over sweetened yet bland american food everywhere we'd been, it was a refreshing change. Vic is the chef...but Cathy can hold her own!
The room was lovely and very traditional, and i agree with everyone else, sitting outside at night on the rocking chairs was a great experience, especially with visits from hummingbirds and being able to see every star in the sky.
It was one of the highlights of our holiday, and we will definately be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed overnight in a simple but beautifully clean room, with ensuite shower with a brass bed and other antique furniture. It was wonderful to sit out on the porch in a rocking chair and watch the sun go down. We joined our hosts, 2 other guests and a Lincoln resident for a relaxing companionable supper before a good nights sleep. In the morning we enjoyed a cooked breakfast (included in the price of the room) before exploring the history of the Lincoln County wars and the story of Billy the Kid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Hotel built in l880's and now a very nice B & B run by a couple that is extremely friendly and accommodating to their guests. Right in the middle of Lincoln, wonderful place. Good food. Be sure to stay there if you are in Lincoln.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed in this place for a couple of nights in June 2008 (I've had to put Oct 09 - it was the earliest date available on the drop down, sorry). We had gone to Albuquerque for a wedding and had a few days left to explore New Mexico. Cathy and Victor were amazing - we didn't feel like customers, we truly felt we were their guests. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, run with love and and as tranquil as any place on Earth. Food was great, a real credit to Victor - I recommend the migas for breakfast, it'll set you up for the day.

As a tip - they are not licenced to sell any alcohol, so if you fancy a glass of wine or a beer buy some on the way through and you are more than welcome to sit on the porch and drink a cold one (or two....)

So friendly I almost felt as though I had to invite them to England to stay at my house in return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

my husband and I stayed at the Wortley for one night in August as part of a three week road trip. We had such a wonderful time here. The room was absolutely beautiful- immaculately clean and So pretty- very tastefully designed so you felt like you were back in time, but not at all cluttered or overdone - perfect. We had a fabulous time sitting on the front porch chatting with Cathy and Vic and several of their friends from the village- they made us feel so welcome , we felt like they were all our friends too. We had a good look around at all the historical sights the next morning which was fascinating and very entertaining.We had the misfortune to have a flat tire when we arrived and Cathy was so helpful, helping us sort it out, which we did in Capitan on our way the next day.The peace and quiet in Lincoln is so beautiful , it was a truly memorable experience. Cathy and Vic are the perfect hosts- thank you so much for a wonderful stay! We would recommend the Wortley without any reservations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have stayed at the wortley several times, Its a great hotel with a rich history, I love sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch,looking out on to the street where so much history took place, The rooms are clean, furnished with a beautiful 19 century style flavor, The rates are surprisingly affordable, and its great that included in the rate is a hot homemade breakfast from their menu, ( I always have their Huevos Rancheros). The hotel is operated by the owners, Kathy an Victor, They always make us feel at home, unlike many hotels where the proprietors often make you feel hesitant to make a request. And when it comes time to leave, we are already looking forward to our next visit. I would like it noted that I am not a person that returns to an Establishment that does not meet my expectations, the fact that we always stay at the Whortley speaks volumes. Thank you Kathy an Victor.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

My son is a western history fan and wanted to stay in or near Lincoln, NM during our tour of that State. Our one night stay was unforgettable, with a nice dinner and conversations on the porch in rocking chairs with other guests. Breakfast is memorable. The owners are very freindly and accomodating. I will return with my wife as soon as I can. We felt like we were at a place that no one else kenw about. All of the historical spots in Lincoln are just feet away. You are a part of the owners' family while you are there.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wortley Pat Garrett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wortley Pat Garrett Hotel

Address: Highway 380, Lincoln, NM 88338
Location: United States > New Mexico > Lincoln
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 302
Also Known As:
Wortley Pat Garrett Lincoln

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wortley Pat Garrett Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.