We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel on the Santa Fe Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel on the Santa Fe Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Amidst a wedding reception, high school reunion, and the beginning of Heritage Week in Las Vegas, we arrived in the bustling lobby of this beautifully rehabilitated hotel. The staff was efficient and welcoming. We strolled the tree filled plaza, visited quaint shops, had ice cream in an old fashioned drugstore, and perused wonderful books at Tome on the Range bookstore. We changed for dinner and had a drink in the "saloon" off the lobby and then enjoyed a delightful dinner at the Landmark Grill in the hotel. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    103
    31
    16
    17
See reviews for
67
123
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We spent a night here on a trip through New Mexico sight seeing. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, from the front desk all the way to the gift shop. We stayed in a room over looking the Plaza and it has a nice view of a quaint plaza. It did get a little noisy at one point when some motorcycles went by, but very nice on the whole.

The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds and an old west decor that really fits the hotel. My kids did say they saw the ghost of Byron T up on the 3rd floor, so that can add a bit of excitement if you believe in such stuff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Imagine the fancy hotel in an old western town and this is it. A great historic hotel (as I remember more than a hundred years old) meticulously restored. They have filmed a bunch of movies here. A great restaurant a great bar -- two separate rooms. Also you get a cooked to order basic eggs and potato breakfast thrown in.

This is a historic two from two eras -- first the cowboys, complete with Billy the Kid and necktie parties -- and then a railroad town. Walk around and you will see a wide variety of architecture from different times.

The plaza -- the hotel is right on it -- has a few closed stores, but a lot of great off-beat shopping on the plaza and the street that runs off to the east.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I loved this hotel. Great historical ambiance and superb comfort. We loved meeting the locals in the saloon and really enjoyed the staff at the hotel. Made many new friends and lots of great memories. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves quirky old places with a real sense of history. Someone said that the square was sadly rundown and neglected. I would suggest they learn the history of this unique town and would perhaps better understand why it is the way it is. It was the Wildest of the Wild West towns in its day. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I spent one night at the hotel on the evening of Friday, April 30, 2010. Nearly everything about the hotel was superb. The room was huge, as was the bathroom. The staff were great. I am a fairly noise sensitive person and was put in a corner room in the back of the hotel. The view outside was nothing to write home about. But I did not hear any noise. I wanted to stay in the older part of the hotel, but was warned by staff about the lack of heat in the room (it got down to 27 degrees the following morning.) Truth be told, the decor in my room gave it a great old-time charm.

A previous review talked about noise. They are correct. Noise from the bar spills into the rooms and into the restaurant. If you are concerned about noise, ask for a room that faces away from the street and the bar. As far as the square being run-down, I totally disagree. Yes, there are a few empty buildings, but there are some great stores there to wander into including a great western store, bookstore, diner (phenomenal enchiladas) and pottery shop/coffeehouse. Most other cities would die to have a downtown as vibrant as that found in Las Vegas, NM.

New Mexico Highlands University is only a few blocks away and has some great buildings.

My complaints...and I had to look hard to find any...were few. Yes, parking is on the street, so make sure you lock your car. Hotels of this calibre usually include a free newspaper with your stay. The hotel was selling the Albuquerque paper for 50 cents apiece (but how can you quibble when the room was only $69 per night). And I never was sure if those yummy-looking cookies at the front desk were free or were being sold. The hotel also advertises a "free hot breakfast in the AM." That is true, but the only breakfast that is free is the eggs/potatoes entree. For all others, you get a two dollar discount. (For the record, I ordered French Toast, which were great. The bill for the entree with coffee was only $6. So I really can't complain.)

That all said, I loved my stay and would urge others to stay there as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Wonderful job restoring a historic old hotel. Very comfy bed. Quiet interior room. Staff & mgt. couldn't do more. But, the location is poor. A very rundown town square, with cars & motorcycles noisily circling the square as we ate at the hotel's Landmark Grill. The hotel bar was frequented by loud, drunk, "questionable" characters, who spilled out into the lobby.Only on-street parking, unless you park 1 block away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This well known hotel was first on our list to stay at in Las Vegas as we toured NM. The allure of this old historic western hotel located in downtown Las Vegas, NM is fabulous and is full of haunting lure. Many stories have been told about its inhabitants and thier pranks. We our meal at the in house restaurant and service. The hotel was old and very interesting- the reason why we wanted to stay. Could have been a little cleaner, but was a treat to experience the old west in this quiet little town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
5.0 of 5 stars 877 reviews
1.2 mi away
Knights Inn Las Vegas
Knights Inn Las Vegas
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.