We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel on the Santa Fe Trail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel on the Santa Fe Trail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Amidst a wedding reception, high school reunion, and the beginning of Heritage Week in Las Vegas, we arrived in the bustling lobby of this beautifully rehabilitated hotel. The staff was efficient and welcoming. We strolled the tree filled plaza, visited quaint shops, had ice cream in an old fashioned drugstore, and perused wonderful books at Tome on the Range bookstore. We changed for dinner and had a drink in the "saloon" off the lobby and then enjoyed a delightful dinner at the Landmark Grill in the hotel. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    85
    25
    13
    15
See reviews for
53
88
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We spent a night here on a trip through New Mexico sight seeing. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful, from the front desk all the way to the gift shop. We stayed in a room over looking the Plaza and it has a nice view of a quaint plaza. It did get a little noisy at one point when some motorcycles went by, but very nice on the whole.

The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds and an old west decor that really fits the hotel. My kids did say they saw the ghost of Byron T up on the 3rd floor, so that can add a bit of excitement if you believe in such stuff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Imagine the fancy hotel in an old western town and this is it. A great historic hotel (as I remember more than a hundred years old) meticulously restored. They have filmed a bunch of movies here. A great restaurant a great bar -- two separate rooms. Also you get a cooked to order basic eggs and potato breakfast thrown in.

This is a historic two from two eras -- first the cowboys, complete with Billy the Kid and necktie parties -- and then a railroad town. Walk around and you will see a wide variety of architecture from different times.

The plaza -- the hotel is right on it -- has a few closed stores, but a lot of great off-beat shopping on the plaza and the street that runs off to the east.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My husband and I loved this hotel. Great historical ambiance and superb comfort. We loved meeting the locals in the saloon and really enjoyed the staff at the hotel. Made many new friends and lots of great memories. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves quirky old places with a real sense of history. Someone said that the square was sadly rundown and neglected. I would suggest they learn the history of this unique town and would perhaps better understand why it is the way it is. It was the Wildest of the Wild West towns in its day. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I spent one night at the hotel on the evening of Friday, April 30, 2010. Nearly everything about the hotel was superb. The room was huge, as was the bathroom. The staff were great. I am a fairly noise sensitive person and was put in a corner room in the back of the hotel. The view outside was nothing to write home about. But I did not hear any noise. I wanted to stay in the older part of the hotel, but was warned by staff about the lack of heat in the room (it got down to 27 degrees the following morning.) Truth be told, the decor in my room gave it a great old-time charm.

A previous review talked about noise. They are correct. Noise from the bar spills into the rooms and into the restaurant. If you are concerned about noise, ask for a room that faces away from the street and the bar. As far as the square being run-down, I totally disagree. Yes, there are a few empty buildings, but there are some great stores there to wander into including a great western store, bookstore, diner (phenomenal enchiladas) and pottery shop/coffeehouse. Most other cities would die to have a downtown as vibrant as that found in Las Vegas, NM.

New Mexico Highlands University is only a few blocks away and has some great buildings.

My complaints...and I had to look hard to find any...were few. Yes, parking is on the street, so make sure you lock your car. Hotels of this calibre usually include a free newspaper with your stay. The hotel was selling the Albuquerque paper for 50 cents apiece (but how can you quibble when the room was only $69 per night). And I never was sure if those yummy-looking cookies at the front desk were free or were being sold. The hotel also advertises a "free hot breakfast in the AM." That is true, but the only breakfast that is free is the eggs/potatoes entree. For all others, you get a two dollar discount. (For the record, I ordered French Toast, which were great. The bill for the entree with coffee was only $6. So I really can't complain.)

That all said, I loved my stay and would urge others to stay there as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Wonderful job restoring a historic old hotel. Very comfy bed. Quiet interior room. Staff & mgt. couldn't do more. But, the location is poor. A very rundown town square, with cars & motorcycles noisily circling the square as we ate at the hotel's Landmark Grill. The hotel bar was frequented by loud, drunk, "questionable" characters, who spilled out into the lobby.Only on-street parking, unless you park 1 block away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

This well known hotel was first on our list to stay at in Las Vegas as we toured NM. The allure of this old historic western hotel located in downtown Las Vegas, NM is fabulous and is full of haunting lure. Many stories have been told about its inhabitants and thier pranks. We our meal at the in house restaurant and service. The hotel was old and very interesting- the reason why we wanted to stay. Could have been a little cleaner, but was a treat to experience the old west in this quiet little town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit this historic hotel, once the hangout of Billy the kid and Doc Holliday, legends of the old west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.