We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be kind to this old dame - perfect for UWC USA parents” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Be kind to this old dame - perfect for UWC USA parents”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I was there for my daughter's graduation at UWC Montezuma.

This was a wonderful historical place. The fact that it was still in business after all these years staying there is a privilege.

We had the ground floor room. With our heavy luggage we couldn't complain.

The spring bed was dated, not my kind but I tolerated. The big bathroom and powder room was old school which was a novelty.

Hot Breakfast was served which was very country.

The bar seemed to be well patronised till late, which made it lively.

I would recommend it to all UWC USA parents.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemapohexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our stay at the Plaza overall was good. The room, located in the new section of the hotel, was quiet, with high ceilings and well cared for antiques. The hotel is conveniently located to the historic districts, and to the interstate. The hotel restaurant and bar both serve superb food. That said, there were some issues with our stay -- housekeeping forgot to leave us towels, which we didn't discover until trying to get ready our first morning. Then they forgot to leave additional toilet paper. Both issues were easily fixed, but should not have happened at all. The other issue with the room was the hot water -- the front desk warned us at check-in that the hot water can get stuck 'on', when you get in the shower, and to let it run for a while to fix it. This was not correct -- while taking a shower, which was already at a comfortable temperature, all of a sudden the water turned scalding hot, no matter where I turned the dial. Luckily I didn't get burned, though it was an adventure trying to rinse off at that point. Also, the cold water faucet in the sink always ran warm. We had seen other reviews mention the slow service in the restaurant. Unfortunately we had the same experience -- the servers were friendly, but very overloaded. At breakfast the first morning, there was only one for the entire dining room. Diners ended up having to get their own refills and some were becoming irritated by the end of their meals due to the slowness. Dinner had a few more servers, so was less of an issue.

Despite the problems, we would likely stay again if in Las Vegas, as the value for the price was quite good. Would have rated the property at 4 stars if not for the issue with the hot water.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and in the new section are quieter. Front desk warned us that rooms close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Plaza is not your cookie cutter chain hotel. Everything in it suggests another era. We stayed here on our honeymoon almost 29 years ago and have stayed here off and on since then. They have continued to improve. When we arrived here recently on a Friday night the downstairs bar was hopping with live music. The desk clerk moved us up another floor away from the noise. The room was lovely and old fashioned. In the morning the free breakfast is ordered off a menu and served in the restaurant. It was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
249 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

As others have pointed out, this hotel has been in receivership for some time. I applaud them for keeping it open at all. The lobby lacks the charm of past visits, but our room was as it had always been---spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable w/ a lovely view of the plaza. Service has always been dicey at best of times, and no change there--there doesn't seem to be a motivated work force available in town. Dinner at the Landmark wasn't particularly good, but given that we were one of two tables, the hotel is in a lame duck management before new owner takes over, and it's Las Vegas NM, expectations were low. Breakfast on the other hand, was free and delicious. It was a little annoying to watch the waitress seated and screwing w/her iPhone, but it tells you everything you need to know that she wasn't upbraided for this, b'c the seeming hotel mgr was sitting in the lobby doing the same.... Can't wait for the new owner to get his hand in here, and hope he keeps it an affordable, laid-back, pet-friendly place.

Room Tip: Overlooking the plaza, of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
292 reviews
291 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

It is a historic hotel and it has a lot of atmosphere. Therefore I'll be graceful with criticism. One thing I have to mention: They rent out a room to two adults that has only one bedside table. And this wasn't historic, only a bit shabby. A second one of these wouldn't hurt. Otherwise I was happy: very friendly staff, OK breakfast and, as I said, loads of atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We have always loved the plaza hotel. We have stayed there quite a few times and was always lovely, However recently we tried staying there and first we got a room with a very strong smell of pine sol so we changed our rooms. It started out great, And then we found a bug, but we didnt realize it was a bed bug at first. We ordered room service and ate dinner, not giving it another thought, until the bugs started appearing again. We called down to the front desk and the guy, Sean at the front desk mentioned that they could change our room again or they could change the sheets and even said that the bugs may be the cause of a recent large amount of rain. So anyway, after we called him we looked them up online and found the excact bugs we had in our room- Bedbugs!!! wondering if the pine sol smell was there way of trying to clean and get rid of them, but giving the housekeeping it doesnt look like they clean too well anyway seeing how a pair of womens sandals were still under the bed. we left and got another hotel pronto! Would not recommend staying there unless it is positive they have cleaned and gotten rid of them for good. Stayed June 4th 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My mother and I spent the weekend in Las Vegas, NM just for fun and stayed one night here. The staff was most accommodating and friendly and treated us like V.I.P.s! The room was spacious and beautiful! I'd stayed in the old part of the hotel before and this time got one of the new rooms. They kept the sense of the original hotel in the decor and space. Our in-room coffee maker didn't have a basket for the filter, so we called down to the front desk and they sent up an entire decanter of coffee from the dining room! The price is very reasonable for the lovely accommodations, too! Our room looked out over the plaza, which was just beautiful! The hotel is within walking distance of the historical districts of the city and the architecture is amazing in that area. The buildings are old and you really get the sense of going back in time. We will definitely be going back, only this time, I may never leave the hotel, it's really that great.

Room Tip: If you want to try an experience the "spirit" of the hotel, and don't mind what goes b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montezuma Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Las Vegas
Days Inn Las Vegas
#6 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Las Vegas
Super 8 Las Vegas
#1 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regal Motel
Regal Motel
#7 of 8 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finest historic hotel (1882) and fine dining in Northern New Mexico, overlooking the beautiful Plaza Park. This is the only hotel in downtown historic Las Vegas - once the biggest and richest city in New Mexico, with 1000+ historic buildings! Purchased in 2014 by owners of the legendary La Posada in Winslow AZ, the Plaza Hotel is receiving a top-to-bottom upgrade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing