We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place oozes charm and history…. cannot go wrong!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The place oozes charm and history…. cannot go wrong!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I cannot believe that anyone would pass this place for a chain motel. It is perfectly situated, has rich history, is priced competitively, and has all the amenities you would expect/need. The receptionist was particularly friendly and courteous. The location cannot be better - can stroll to town at any time and take the scenery in. I think I will look for a reason to return here. Did I mention that the place will accommodate the pet as well? Our "pet" was very pleased.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and have such nice things to say about our treasure.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    87
    25
    13
    16
See reviews for
54
89
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel on New Year's Eve 2013. We loved our room. It was apparently in the "new" section of the hotel. It was a large room with a small refrigerator and a microwave oven. Since it was New year's Eve, of course it was noisy into the wee hours with lots of door slamming and people partying in the halls. I think security was called at one point. We didn't have a problem with any of that. Our one complaint was the lack of hot water in the morning. Nothing like a tepid shower to greet the New Year! We were told, "it's an old hotel and people are showering all at the same time." Later, as we were checking out, we were told the problem had been fixed by turning up the thermostat. Why wasn't that done earlier in anticipation of the morning rush? Well, there was a perfectly logical explanation. "People might get burned if the temperature is too high." There are signs all over the building about water conservation. I wonder how much was wasted by people waiting for their showers to heat up?

Otherwise, our stay was a lot of fun. Good food, good music, friendly staff, and free-spirited party revellers all made our little jaunt to Las Vegas a delight. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking the plaza had a great view of the downtown. However, the curtains did not black...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the New Year's Eve Festivities

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel has been nicely restored to its original 1880's elegance (perhaps the plumbing could use an update!); the Christmas decorations made it very festive. The hotel is right on the historic town square, within walking distance of most historic sites. The room was large and comfortable, and the staff very nice and helpful. The bar is small, but bustling, even on the December weeknight we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for staying at our beautiful Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience of the hotel and acknowledge our team member efforts. We can't wait to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Nice stay very different from normal chains breakfast was included and was very good matter of fact food in hotel was good! Nice atmosphere but if you stay just be aware the hot water comes and goes and at night the area is very smokey due to everyone using wood stoves to keep warm.Tip reserve room on line it's way cheaper than at hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, breakfast at our hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modra, Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I have tried a few hotels in Las Vegas better rated than Plaza. However, whilst other hotels are new and slightly cheaper, Plaza should be a No 1 choice for someone looking for a hotel with a character. It is an old traditional hotel, very nicely refurbished, centrally located. Be aware that there are two types of rooms, newly refurbished rooms and the older rooms, which are however not equally nice.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying at our charming jewel The Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the history of the hotel.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The place is a little down on its heels but its a charming place to stay and the room rates are very reasonable and includes breakfast. This hotel was a hub for travelers passing through for over 100 years when the town was a booming railroad stop. It is now trying to hang on through tough economic times. It has a lively saloon with a loyal local clientele. Great fun. We'd stay here again and again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at our charming jewel The Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again and that you come and stay with us regularly.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a very nice, locally owned historic hotel on the Plaza in Las Vegas New Mexico. My room was in the modern addition and was very nicely sized with comfortable bed, refrigerator, and good working AC and WiFi. The desk clerks were very helpful and friendly. The bar area was festive but I thought the restaurant was only average. The hotel was within walking distance of other restaurants and shops and New Mexico Highlands University. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for staying at our charming jewel The Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience of the hotel and acknowledge our team member efforts. We can't wait to welcome you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit this historic hotel, once the hangout of Billy the kid and Doc Holliday, legends of the old west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.