We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Character and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We found that the Plaza Hotel fit us perfectly. We were looking for something other than a chain hotel. It had a great restaurant and bar. It is close to a lot of unique shops. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    87
    25
    13
    16
See reviews for
54
89
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, super central, elegant and clean. Nice food at the restaurant. The problem is the service: we arrived at 8pm without a reservation and the girl at the reception, Precious, offered us the last room available at 135$ while at the same time on booking there where two double rooms available at 89$. We booked it in front of her and she didn't give us any explanation or excuse for this. Moreover she made us waiting for 20 mins saying that processing the order from booking was taking time. Unacceptable attempt of cheating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

We have address the reservation procedures with our staff members.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We love the Plaza Hotel. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, friendly service all within walking distance of good restaurants on the Old Town Plaza.

We lived in Las Vegas for many years and I remember when the hotel was a decrepit bar. It had been 'updated' with ugly acoustical tiles and cheap paneling and all the gorgeous architectural details desecrated. Each of the rungs of the lovely staircase had been painted a different color: blue, red, green, purple, orange - AWFUL! Then some investors came in and transformed the hotel to its former glory.

The hotel has been expanded from its original building and when we first learned we had a room in the new section, we were disappointed. But the new rooms are as beautiful as the old ones, with tall ceilings and windows, antique furniture and period colors and decor. Bathrooms are clean. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I stripped off the pillowcases to find out what kind of pillows they use and ended up ordering them online for my own house.

The hotel is a popular stop for celebrities in town making movies and TV shows. The last time we were there, a movie was being filmed in town. We were sitting in the bar when someone walked in. We looked up and realized it was Tommy Lee Jones. Across the street from the hotel is the front door used in the show Longmire.On the side of the hotel, faint letters spell out Hotel Romaine, after the silent movie actor who used to stay there.The whole Plaza area features beautiful architecture and historic sites. The amazing Montezuma Hotel on the campus of the United World College and the nearby hot springs are a short drive away.

We like nearby El Rialto restaurant and JC's NY Pizza Department has GREAT pizza. There are a couple of other places right on the Plaza that local friends tell us are very good too. The popular Spic & Span is a short drive or a doable walk away in downtown Las Vegas.

The hotel includes a breakfast in the lovely dining room with your room fee. That breakfast for us has been the down side of the hotel. The staff is friendly but appears to be very untrained. Servers walk by the table ignoring us. We had to ask for silverware and napkins, Food is delivered to the table cold. Coffee cups go unfilled. We ask for something and it is obviously forgotten. Yet the staff stands to the side chatting as though there is nothing to do. I guess I shouldn't complain about a free meal but I would have given the hotel a rating of 5 if the breakfast service had been better. We've always avoided the somewhat pricey dinners there because of the so-so breakfast service.

Finding the perfect room can be tricky. We enjoy being on the Plaza side. It can be a bit noisy with passing cars but we like to watch the action and look out on the park. We don't like the rooms over the conservatory as there is no view. But all the rooms are pretty, spacious and comfortable.

We will always stay at the Plaza when we go to Las Vegas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Plaza can be noisy but they have a good view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback, we will share with our staff and make sure we only improve our guest services skills.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is located on the lovely central plaza in Las Vegas, New Mexico, which is an historic southwestern town on the Santa Fe Trail about 70 miles from both Santa Fe or Taos. The hotel comprises 2 buildings: an historic hotel renovated in the 1980s and the Charles Ilfeld building that was remodeled in 2009. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious, with very high ceilings and windows overlooking the plaza. The sink was in a walled-off alcove next to the bathroom (with shower/tub and WC). The flat-panel TV was somewhat small for the recent trend in large screens, but the reception was good. The tables and bureau were refurbished antiques. (My only complaint was that one of the bedside lamps had loosened components that needed attention.) We loved the gracious wide staircases between floors, but there is also an elevator. Guests definitely feel they are in the southwest when they walk into the lobby of this hotel. If you feel you've been in this hotel before, it may be because you've seen some of the movies or TV shows that have been filmed there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer side of the hotel. Third floor rooms have high ceilings and large window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, you liked the rooms and the history of the hotel.

Thank you for acknowledging the attention to details.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The first room we were given had a small TV and the rain was hitting the fan noisily. As soon as we reported it to the reception, they changed us to a bigger room with no extra charge! The restaurant was great and of good value. The service definitely gets an A++!
Only downside, the vending machines were either sold out, either not cooling the drinks.
Highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the beautiful Historic Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas NM. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we were able to accommodate your needs after all.
We are happy that you liked your dinning experience with us.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and we look forward to having you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband decided to surprise me with a stay at the hotel for my birthday. We had walked through the hotel on a previous visit thinking it would be a nice experience to stay there. The "Premium" room we were given, room 217, was very dark with one window that was surrounded by the building and looked down on part of the first floor. We asked to be changed to another room and my husband mentioned a four poster bed which was shown in one of the photos. We were given room 205 which faces the plaza and had some nice windows with two beds. The first thing we noticed were dirty fingerprints all over the entry door to the room and a filthy plastic "Do not disturb" sign. The TV remote had not been cleaned and the floor had food particles all around the baseboard. The room was very hot and we set the thermostat at a lower temperature. After leaving for a couple of hours the room was still very hot and uncomfortable. We couldn't go down to the bar because there was a wedding party that took up all of the space and we couldn't sit outside because people were standing in that area smoking. We decided to leave and go back home to Santa Fe. We spoke to a woman at the desk and William, the desk manager, about the issues including the four poster bed which my husband thought he was reserving at which point she said-"Oh that is in the newer part of the hotel." At this point she stated that if we would come back they would give us a "deal" and mentioned the bridal suite. My husband was called today by William, who stated that he would give us a room for free and it would be immaculate if we came back. Well, it should have been immaculate to begin with and that doesn't solve the issues we had. If the desk person would have listened to the request about the four poster bed shown in the photo, he could have given us that "Premium" room or tell us it wasn't available. We hope this hotel which we were told is "in transition" improves in the future. For now we can't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, please know that we strive to service all of our guests so they leave happy and return again as well as recommend us to family and friends.
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and we therefore contacted you directly to address the issues.
Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice and my room in the new wing was very attractive and the bed comfortable, but the furniture arrangement was all wrong. The bed was so close to the wall on one side it was difficult to get out, while accommodating an unnecessarily large table on the other side. The chair was fragile and lumpy and impossible to sit on and the lack of a desk or writing surface made working in the room difficult. I had to fix the printer and track down paper for their small office area in the lobby only to be told the fax machine was broken. I would not recommend this hotel for business travelers. Families and vacationers will fare much better. The big disappointment is the restaurant. Gone are the fluffy breakfast biscuits and real potato hashbrowns. Hello way too much frozen food. Breakfast is your best bet as the baker is brilliant. Waffles, pancakes and coffee cake excel the rest is mediocre to grim. Lunch offers some decent sandwiches but that's about it. Forget dinner - absolutely a waste of money. I understand the hotel is in transition and will be going up for Auction on July 9th - so perhaps, if it stays open, things will improve under the new owners. It's a beautiful hotel and deserves to be enjoyed and appreciated.

Room Tip: Beds in the new rooms are very comfortable but ask for a back room if there is a band playing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kami P, Manager at Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, please know that we strive to service all of our guests so they leave happy and return again as well as recommend us to family and friends.
We are sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and we therefore contacted you directly to address the issues.
Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thank you
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: 230 Plaza Street, Las Vegas, NM 87701
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit this historic hotel, once the hangout of Billy the kid and Doc Holliday, legends of the old west. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.