We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical HI Express, which is not bad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   816 South Grand Ave, Las Vegas, NM 87701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Typical HI Express, which is not bad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

After a miserable experience at the hotel in the heart of town, I opted for this on my last 3 night stay. It's kind of weird, but all the other hotels seem to run in the same price range which is $60-80. This is the only one that routinely tops $100. Sits on the highway, so ask for a room on the other side.

The room was nice and clean. Comfortable bed and sofa (I stayed in a "suite"). Housekeeping was very efficient and always replaced all the used towels, even those that I hung, intending to use again. Free HBO and a lot of other channels to choose from. There were a lot of people around, but the room was quiet. 3 nights and no complaints about the other guests. The heat/AC unit can be really loud, such that you will find yourself constantly adjusting the TV volume as it cycles on and off. Wi-Fi seemed really good both in the room and in the breakfast/lobby area.

The breakfast was usual HI Express fare. On only one of the three days that I was there did they have a cheese omelet (which was quite tasty), otherwise it was really boring scrambled eggs. But also sausage or bacon, biscuits, gravy, cereal, juice, sweet rolls (which are really quite good). Fruit seemed to be in short supply and when I asked for a banana, I was offered something so green, it would've taken 4 days to ripen. I bought my own at the supermarket.

I took advantage of the 'fitness center' this time and it is really small. One each of treadmill, elliptical and recumbent bike. 1 set each of 3,5,8 lb weights. That's it! Really meager by today's standards. If you are a runner, I can tell you that this is at the end of town and not highly populated, so I would exercise (pun intended) caution. Strange too that the TV in the gym gets an entirely different set of channels than the one in the room. Did seem to have a nice pool/jacuzzi area which I did not use.

All in all, a nice quiet and clean hotel (and also the newest in Las Vegas). It is a few miles from the restaurants and the college. My room had a fridge and microwave so keeping and reheating leftovers was no problem. Very easy access on and off the highway. Well worth the few extra dollars if you need a place for more than one night and want to comfortable,

Room Tip: West side, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel and especially for your specific suggestions. We have listened and are happy to let you know that we have had a great response to the new and refreshed Breakfast Bar. It now has several new Smart Choice's including a Oatmeal Bar with walnuts, raisins, honey & cinnamon. We look forward to your next stay and hope to see what you think of a improved Breakfast Bar and our Fitness Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
24
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here several times over the past years. This time, we arrived around 4 pm with no reservation. The AAA rate was reasonable, just over $100. There is some noise from the Interstate, but we always take along a noise machine, so we were not affected. The staff was friendly and helpful.
We have found that a short stay here, with dinner at Dick's, works well for us during our return trips to Colorado. This stay was no exception.
Breakfast is basic, with scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, cereals, yogurt, waffle- maker, juice, and coffee. Good start for a half day of driving.
With few choices available, Holiday Inn Express still works fine for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We will all look forward to your return in the near future. I will certainly share your comments with our entire crew. It is so appreciated that you also mentioned one of our business partners Dick's as being a great stop while in Las Vegas, New Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Decently clean, helpful staff and dog friendly :) We travel from Wisconsin to AZ and back usually staying in Santa Fe. We found that on this route, staying at HIX in Las Vegas, NM is a nice change so we don't have to push so hard. Last leg of trip is still very manageable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We are so happy to hear from you that you stayed at our "Pet Friendly" hotel. Thank you for your patronage and we do hope that you and your pet guest will come back over and over again. In the meantime may you have safe travels and enjoy the holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express is a super nice hotel and we had a great stay. I am pretty sure it is new and it is very clean. The only downfall is that it is a mile or more away from the town. It is worth driving a little further and staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay. It is so nice to be able to pass these compliments on to our team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband, dog and I stayed here on Sept 18, 2013. We were delighted to find a Holiday Inn Express with a reasonable pet rate. Most of them charge $50. When we checked in, we were given a room on the first floor overlooking the driveway. When we asked for a higher floor on a quieter side because of our long driving days for the past week, we were told that all dog people stayed in these rooms on the first room. We have never run into this restriction before and asked why? The answer was because of the allergies that people have around dogs. When I laughingly said, I'm allergic to kids running around, she icely suggested that she could get me a reservation at the Comfort Inn. WOW! My question is, if the hotel feels that pets and pet owners are a hazard to the other guests, why even take the pets in the first place. Go to the Druary Inns, the Sheratons, the La Quintas, the Comfort Inns and be treated very nicely, pet and all. Holiday Inn Express, JUST SAY NO TO PETS! It saves us a lot of grief and will make your desk people a lot happier.

Room Tip: Just don't bring a pet with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Chloe S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pet policy of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've had numerous long term stays in the Las Vegas NM area over the last 7 months. Luckily I chose to stay at this property the first time, and decided to do so on all my return trips. The hotel is clean and well kept up. I've stayed in suites each time, that were roomy and very comfortable. The hot & cold breakfast is good. All these things have made for very nice stays. The main stand-out though is the staff and service. I don't know if the manager, Kay, is that great at managing people or if she just hires the best. Either way it works great. I have been treated like family there, and when some of my real family joined me, they were treated like part of the hotel family as well. As with any hotel there are glitches with equipment and things, but when I've brought them up they were dealt with happily. I've ask for favors or assistance, I've also had to change reservation plans, some times at the last minute, and these were all handled professionaly and with a smile. Congrats to the breakfast ladies, housekeeping, maintenance, desk help, supervisors, and manager, Kay for making this a home-away-from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
It is always a pleasure to know when our team has done it right. I hope that we can always be your first choice in lodging needs when visiting our area. Thank you for your very appreciated review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed one night in King suite. Slight mix up in reservation (which was probably my fault, smoking vs non-smoking) but despite limited ability to change the check in clerk handled this very well, was helpful and and very pleasant. Room was large, good bed, good bathroom and shower. Clean but not spotless, some minor maintenance issues such as a very touchy air conditioner and burnt out lights. No electrical plugs at tabletop height at bedside. Hotel is at far south end of town very near entrance back onto interstate. All of the restaurants and supermarkets are at the north end of town about 2-3 miles away. Would stay here again if we had to stop in Las Vegas NM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. We value your business and will look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas

Address: 816 South Grand Ave, Las Vegas, NM 87701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Las Vegas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Charming Las Vegas, NM Hotel Enjoy a comfortable stay at our hotel in beautiful Las Vegas, New Mexico, conveniently located right off of I-25 near Highlands University, Montezuma Castle and the Las Vegas National Wildlife Refuge. You may even see a movie being filmed, as our city is often the prime choice for a movie location.Families looking for lodging in Las Vegas, NM will be pleased with our premium Las Vegas accommodations. Our hotel is in close proximity to the City of Las Vegas Museum, Pecos National Monument, historic downtown Las Vegas, Fort Union National Monument , Gallinas River, Storrie Lake Park and the old Santa Fe Trail. Have fun exploring all the western history Las Vegas has to offer.Business travelers will be impressed by the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We offer ideal business amenities such as a Business Center with copy, fax and printing services, as well as flexible event space for meetings in Las Vegas, New Mexico. Our hotel also provides quick access to area businesses including New Mexico Highlands University, Alta Vista Hospital, New Mexico State Hospital and several new companies opening soon.Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy lodging at our Las Vegas hotel, which offers a heated, indoor pool, whirlpool and a new Fitness Center. Our free hot breakfast is served fresh every morning.Check out our excellent Las Vegas, NM hotel room deals and rates and start planning your visit today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Las Vegas
Holiday Inn Las Vegas
Las Vegas Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Vegas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.