We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a nightmare...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2585 S.Valley Dr., Las Cruces, NM 88005 (Formerly Comfort Inn Las Cruces)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like a nightmare...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

From beginning to end, my 12 hour stay at the Comfort Inn was like a horror story. My air conditioner was broken, the floor, bed cover, desk chair, tub and who knows what else was beyond filthy and stained. I stay at many Comfort Inns around the country and this absolutely did not meet their national standards. So terrible that I have written their national headquarters a "heads up" that one of their motels is beyond sub-standard.
I fled the next morning after no sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharti L, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Property under new management. Converted to Econolodge. Newly remodeled rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    9
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las cruces
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I see lot of negative comment about this motel, but i feel so comfortable staying at this motel. front desk was really helpful and has knowledge about town, restaurant, and local attraction

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Spent four days in New Mexico over Easter and stayed in three different Comfort Inns. The first two were fine (T or C and Roswell) this one was simply not up to standard.
We had a room on the first floor, on the right hand side. There is a gas station right next door. He wheeled his dumpsters one by one past the window at around 10 pm (they were picked up at sunrise the next morning by the equally noisy garbage truck). The room (two king beds, non smoking) was old and not in a good condition - well overdue refurbishment and nothing like the clean new rooms we encountered at other Comfort Inns. But the worst aspect was the noise at regular intervals throughout the noise from the nearby railway. For some reason the trains sound their horns/klaxons at night - it sounds like a car alarm going off right outside your window over and over again. Even with earplugs I was woken again and again.
I hate giving negative reviews, but this is simply a very poor location, and a sadly rundown room. AVOID!
The reviews below which lavish praise on this motel amaze me and are an all too regular aspect of Tripadvisor these days - from first hand experience they are at best innacurate and at worst......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Even the sign haas broken. Room was terrible. Only 3 rooms rented. Gave us one at end of hall. Hadnt cleaned the other ones! Did offer breakfast but didn't feel clean enough to eat there

Room Tip: Look before you decide to stay notice is not everythin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Worst of the Comfort Inns that I have ever stayed in. It's old and rundown. There is a gas station adjacent, an old one. Our room had a view of the rusty and greasy discarded parts behind it.

We went to breakfast an hour or so before the end time. Most items were gone. The coffee was weak, not much more than colored water. The maids were taking a break at that time; one of them raced my wife to the microwave.

The neighborhood is scary. I often walk around at night. I did not here. No one stole my car so I guess it might be safe. You can hear trains all night.

Choice hotels should be ashamed of this place. Ignore the picture on this page. It may have looked like that once but a long, long time ago. Amazing what you can do with Photoshop.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were looking for inexpensive lodging for a quick overnight as we travelled through New Mexico on our way to Arizona. This served our purpose, although there really was nothing impressive. Our non-smoking king room was clean but worn. It was on 2nd floor and I don't believe there was an elevator. Free wifi was nice. The breakfast again was just typical standard fare. It was okay, but I don't think we would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Checked in was pleasant and quick. Room was dirty and smelly. No hot water was told they don't turn them on if they don't have anyone using the room for long periods of time. 1st. clue. Window AC, loud and loisy. TV was a old time unit. Walls thin and heard everything.
Pool too dirty to use. Exercise room had equipment but was all in pieces (broken). I picked off a tick the next day.
Breakfast was ok, food on the run. Personally, MCDonalds in better and you know your safe.
I would not recomment staying at this hotel. They need to clean up their act.

Room Tip: Don't Go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2585 S.Valley Dr., Las Cruces, NM 88005 (Formerly Comfort Inn Las Cruces)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cruces NM hotels, Econo Lodge hotel is near New Mexico State UniversityThe Econo Lodge® hotel is easily accessible, located just east of Interstate 10. This Las Cruces, NM hotel is near many local attractions and points of interest like the White Sands Missile Range, historic Old Mesilla, the New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum, the Organ Mountains and New Mexico State University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Las Cruces
Las Cruces Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.