We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knucklehead reviewers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   790 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in Las Cruces
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“Knucklehead reviewers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed twice there over the last week, the rate was decent, the staff were helpful, the rooms were clean and tidy, the bed was extremely comfortable, and it might just have the most convenient freeway access in town - the reviews that complained about that we're nuts! I left too early to try the breakfast, so I can't speak for that, but given the opportunity, I'll stay there again. If I had paid $125+, I would have a different review, but I was very pleased at the $62 rate for what I received.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    33
    44
    21
See reviews for
75
56
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was conveniently located to a McDonalds, Wal-Mart was less than 3 miles away. The hotel itself is outdated, but serves its purpose. Rooms are super clean, restrooms were super clean and the front service was very friendly. Beds (as in all La Quinta's) were the most comfortable. Although this location doesn't have the modern look. Don't let it's outdatedness fool you for a great location, inexpensive and with staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is one of your typical la quintas. It's not a bad stay but merely mediocre as far as location, set-up, etc. I stayed in the newer building called the annex. The room was perfectly fine even though the flushing toilet was so loud it frightened my dog. He doesn't frighten easily. The only real downsides to the annex are that you have to return the the main hotel to get breakfast & for a rectangular building they should have made it a motel with in-front parking access. Oh & there is no Internet access. I went to the main building to try to get online & no go. That's just unacceptable. I've been far enough from the network in order to get a steady connection but guests should be able to get online in the lobby.

In spite of the inadequacies, the staff was very kind. And they have waffles!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I will preface my comments by noting that we were in the "annex" which may or may not make a difference. The carpets in the hallways and rooms were filthy. There were stains on the towels and linens. Trash receptacles outside we're overflowing. We generally like to stay at a LaQuinta, but cross this one off your list.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had booked to stay one night here on way from Tombstone AZ to Albuquerque.
We arrived at 16:00 hours to be told that the only room we could have was one on the first floor.
With 3 large cases plus hand luggage and other bags that was just not practical for us to carry the luggage up there (we're both over 55 years of age and the stairs were big) so asked that we could have a room on the first floor.
As we didn't request a downstairs room when the booking was made they said they would try to get a downstairs room cleaned, but they were very busy that night, and asked us to come back in an hour.
They asked for my cell/mobile number so they could call us if the room was ready before the hour was up.
We sat in the car park of the McDonalds across the road for the hour.
When we went back we were told there would never be a downstairs room available for that night.
There was a lady working on reception and 2 guys. She was trying to help, but she was the only one. The 2 guys were just negative and not at all helpful.
This was just shambolic on so many levels -
1. Why on seeing we came from the UK by our address couldn't they work out we'd probably have more than just an overnight bag, so a first floor room is really not practical.
2. Why leave uncleaned ground floor rooms (which they said they had) if they were really so busy that night (which they said they were).
3. Why leave us sat in the car for an extra hour if they had no intention of cleaning a ground floor room at all. That just added insult to injury! If they couldn't get us a ground floor room they should have just told us.
4. Why buy or design a hotel (motel is a different matter) that has a first floor but has no lift. Do they expect everyone to have just an overnight bag?
5. We had a suspicion that the room had been cleaned and made ready, but given away to someone that complained louder than us.
This had a silver lining though. We went across the road to Days Inn. The guy there was everything the La Quinta staff weren't. He even knocked $10 off the room rate.
Room was great, big, with all the amenities and clean. Parked right outside so no luggage problems.
Have used La Quinta several times over the past few years, and up to now have always been really pleased with them. We actually stayed in one in Albuquerque the following day and that was up to their usual high standard.
This one just has to be the exception that proves the rule!!

Room Tip: IMake sure you request a ground floor room if any luggage over and above an over night bag.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a nice hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, even let us check in early. The continental breakfast was very nice and they had someone cleaning tables just as soon as they were vacated. Likewise, the food area was being cleaned constantly and the items replenished. I felt the food was very adequate for a continental breakfast. The only problem was that the building we were in was separate from the office, and a family checked into this building that was totally unruly, including the parents. The teenage children were running up and down the halls yelling and throwing pillows at each other, which they left in the halls. Then they were crawling in and out of the ground floor windows of their room, and this included the mother, who also exited the room this way to get things out of their car. Then they went out to eat and returned about 11 pm and were yelling out in the hall. We thought things would calm down and should have called the office, but didn't. The next morning was the same situation with people jumping out the windows and crawling back in. Even though we were ready to leave, I informed the front desk of what had been going on--wish I would have done so the night before. It is understandable the kids would act that way when they have irresponsible parents.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley

Address: 790 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Hotel Las Cruces
La Quinta Las Cruces
Las Cruces La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Las Cruces Mesilla Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.