We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2160 West Picacho Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint & Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had the privilege of staying here while waiting for truck repairs. The owners were on site and available to take care of our needs. They are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. We were shown to our room to make sure everything was just right. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a pool and gazebo for outdoor fun. The decorations are eclectic with an outback flair. Overall, just a really nice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    125
    35
    17
    10
See reviews for
100
179
64
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Owner and staff were fabulous/ personable. The grounds were a stunning oasis! Next time - I will plan to use the grill and really ENJOY the beautiful space. I appreciated their attention to security, as it did not appear to be the greatest part of town - but was made very comfortable. The rooms were older and eclectic - which I like. If you want fancy, new hotel stuff - you might be disappointed. If you want superb service, a beautiful setting and a great value (and if you like eclectic) stay here.

Room Tip: I liked my room on the 2nd floor looking over the center gardens/ courtyard and koi pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here based on Trip Advisor comments and we were not disappointed. Don't be alarmed by the big chili in front of the hotel, the gardens and koi pond in the back is a beautiful setting after a long day of driving. The owner, David, was gracious and was very helpful in suggesting a place for dinner. A real value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Chose this hotel from reading TA reviews. This location is a "motel" not a hotel. It is an older property. Check-in went smoothly with the owner. He was very personable. He had area maps available and told us how to get the university. We had a first floor room facing the courtyard. The courtyard had a barbque grill, table and chairs and a pool. Room was clean and had a tv, refrigerator and decent beds. (The motel is in dire need of some renovations even if it is one room at a time.) The price was reasonable - around $65 at that time. Would I stay here again?- probably not. I am spoiled and like a little more out of my hotel/motel stays. BUT, there is nothing wrong with this place for a a night or two when on a budget. Wish I got some salsa and chips...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The garden piazza in the back is a complete surprise and the crowning jewel in the hotel. I saw the cheesiest big chili in the front, which for some reason just simply works--sorta on the level of the really big pistachio I also saw not too far from here. The room was average, if not a little less than since there was no coffee maker. You had to request a blow dryer. But you did get a small plastic plate of chips and salsa delivered to your room upon check-in. I think, basically, it was the atmosphere and quirkiness of the hotel and its management that garnered this five-star rating. It came with breakfast, which in any higher dollar hotel would've been complaint worthy, but again, here it just seemed to work. I would return to this hotel, despite this rather odd review.

Room Tip: Make sure you are near the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at The Big Chile Inn while vacationing in Las Cruces recently and our stay was nothing short of phenomenal! We arrived late and were greeted with the most courteous service, being personally checked in to our room. We were even brought chips and salsa! The owner David and his family worked around the clock to ensure all of their guests were well taken care of! We drank wine and ate cheese under the gazebo outside our room in the most peaceful atmosphere, it was amazing! Before we left we purchased hand made metal works souveneirs from the lobby to take back to our home in Salt Lake City and our back yard looks great with our new southwest style additions! I definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in Las Cruces and we will be back! Thanks for all the hospitality guys!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is actually more like a 3 star hotel. It is an older property. The shower heads are placed pretty low in the shower. The reason for 4 stars are the great rates and the owners, David and Elina. They go above and beyond to satisfy their guests. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful, lots of sitting areas and 2 bbq grills and a pool. The laundry room was a little dirty, with a pile of laundry on top of one of the dryers, but it was $1 to wash and $1 to dry. There is truck parking and they allow pets. Will stay every time we come thru this way.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2160 West Picacho Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.