We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2160 West Picacho Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Carefree, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

While the curb appeal of this motel is no too good, our room was a nice surprise. It was spotless! The beds are comfortable, but the a/c unit was a little noisy. (I am a very light sleeper). The owner greeted us and took us to our room. Very friendly and hospitable. There is a pool, garden area, and BBQ grill for your use. Don't miss the giant pepper in the front. (Actually, you can't miss it!). The lobby is huge, and harks back to this motel's earlier days. Breakfast is light with cereal, coffee, juices, and fruit. This motel is a good value for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    107
    25
    16
    9
See reviews for
86
150
55
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for a business trip to Texas. It is a wonderful place! The owners are extremely nice and even walked us to our rooms. They have a secured fence area for parking which we needed for the load we are hauling with us. They gave us a great little place to eat as a recommendation. This is certainly a nicely run place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Driving about 9 hours between Arizona and Texas, we needed somewhere to stay near the highway in New Mexico -- found America's Best Value Inn (Big Chile Inn) on Tripadvisor and made a last minute reservation.

David said he'd gladly hold the room for our late arrival, and even gave us great, detailed directions that would get us there more quickly than our GPS.

Upon arriving, Elina (and her daughter!) were so welcoming and wonderful. The cold drinks, chips and salsa and TV already on our favorite channel just tickled us after our far too long day of driving. The room is certainly no-frills, but it has everything you need (and if it doesn't, a quick call to David/Elina seems to fix that! I found out a second too late that my room didn't have a hair dryer, and within minutes David had whisked one over for us!!). The property is quaint and quirky, with a pool, gardens and a koi pond with waterfall. A fantastic value for the location/amenities/cost -- couldn't have asked for more for our quick stay.

One thing of note (not necessarily a negative, just an FYI) -- the shower head is relatively low on the wall, this was not an issue for me as I'm 5'2", but my boyfriend who is 6'4" found it a bit comical that the shower water hit him pretty much in the midsection.

Thank you David, Elina and family for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After driving 655 miles, our reservation at The BIG CHILE INN at 2160 W, Picaho Ave., Las Crucas was in perfect order. The Mothers Day reservation was greeted with 2 cold sodas and some chips and dip to take to our handicap room. The two beds were very comfortable and the handicap shower was one of the best encountered on our three week trip. The hotel was old but in good repair and the bedds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I read the reviews of this place. Amazing 300 plus. I needed a good cheap overnight motel on my way to Texas from California so I was intrigued to try this place over the chain budget joints. The personal service is really great. Took my reservation over the phone and held a room for my 10pm arrival. The owner brought up chips and salsa when it was obvious I would have trouble finding a place to dine in a town that turns off early. Got a quiet room. It's an older place for sure, but clean and very quiet. AC was good. And the place is filled with roadside artifacts of this "giant chili pepper". I was really impressed how great service can make even an older motel pleasure to stay. Had the usual HBO/wi-fi/continental breakfast combo. I'm going back! Hopefully it won't get too popular so I can still get a last minute reservation. I make this trip a lot.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the inside of the courtyard are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful garden with a gazebo and a couple of grills outside your room. A koi pond, peaceful. The owners are very nice, and give you chips and salsa when you arrive, plus a beverage. Really quite unexpected. Clean, particular, and they seem to love what they do. Don't miss it. Plus, very inexpensive. If i knew what we were getting i would have paid almost double the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent two nights here when attending our granddaughter's graduation. Selected it for the price and the fact that it is in the top three in Las Cruces on Trip Advisor. It was ok for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok. The owners are in the process of revitalizing it, and are doing a good job. It was pretty clean, although I think they could use a lesson in dusting, and it was quiet. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2160 West Picacho Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.