We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2160 West Picacho Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for a business trip to Texas. It is a wonderful place! The owners are extremely nice and even walked us to our rooms. They have a secured fence area for parking which we needed for the load we are hauling with us. They gave us a great little place to eat as a recommendation. This is certainly a nicely run place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    125
    35
    19
    10
See reviews for
102
182
65
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Driving about 9 hours between Arizona and Texas, we needed somewhere to stay near the highway in New Mexico -- found America's Best Value Inn (Big Chile Inn) on Tripadvisor and made a last minute reservation.

David said he'd gladly hold the room for our late arrival, and even gave us great, detailed directions that would get us there more quickly than our GPS.

Upon arriving, Elina (and her daughter!) were so welcoming and wonderful. The cold drinks, chips and salsa and TV already on our favorite channel just tickled us after our far too long day of driving. The room is certainly no-frills, but it has everything you need (and if it doesn't, a quick call to David/Elina seems to fix that! I found out a second too late that my room didn't have a hair dryer, and within minutes David had whisked one over for us!!). The property is quaint and quirky, with a pool, gardens and a koi pond with waterfall. A fantastic value for the location/amenities/cost -- couldn't have asked for more for our quick stay.

One thing of note (not necessarily a negative, just an FYI) -- the shower head is relatively low on the wall, this was not an issue for me as I'm 5'2", but my boyfriend who is 6'4" found it a bit comical that the shower water hit him pretty much in the midsection.

Thank you David, Elina and family for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After driving 655 miles, our reservation at The BIG CHILE INN at 2160 W, Picaho Ave., Las Crucas was in perfect order. The Mothers Day reservation was greeted with 2 cold sodas and some chips and dip to take to our handicap room. The two beds were very comfortable and the handicap shower was one of the best encountered on our three week trip. The hotel was old but in good repair and the bedds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I read the reviews of this place. Amazing 300 plus. I needed a good cheap overnight motel on my way to Texas from California so I was intrigued to try this place over the chain budget joints. The personal service is really great. Took my reservation over the phone and held a room for my 10pm arrival. The owner brought up chips and salsa when it was obvious I would have trouble finding a place to dine in a town that turns off early. Got a quiet room. It's an older place for sure, but clean and very quiet. AC was good. And the place is filled with roadside artifacts of this "giant chili pepper". I was really impressed how great service can make even an older motel pleasure to stay. Had the usual HBO/wi-fi/continental breakfast combo. I'm going back! Hopefully it won't get too popular so I can still get a last minute reservation. I make this trip a lot.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the inside of the courtyard are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A beautiful garden with a gazebo and a couple of grills outside your room. A koi pond, peaceful. The owners are very nice, and give you chips and salsa when you arrive, plus a beverage. Really quite unexpected. Clean, particular, and they seem to love what they do. Don't miss it. Plus, very inexpensive. If i knew what we were getting i would have paid almost double the price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent two nights here when attending our granddaughter's graduation. Selected it for the price and the fact that it is in the top three in Las Cruces on Trip Advisor. It was ok for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was ok. The owners are in the process of revitalizing it, and are doing a good job. It was pretty clean, although I think they could use a lesson in dusting, and it was quiet. The breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Las Cruces is the closet place to the White Sands National Monument. The city has really nothing to offer, thus staying there really only serves to be close to the park. The motel is simply great. It starts already at check-in where David will welcome you with a big smile. He will make sure you have all information about the motel (e.g. laundry room, ice machine, pool, etc.). Also, he will bring you a plate of salsa and chips. The rooms are big and include anything you may need. A continental breakfast is also included. Besides this, the inside part of the motel has a little garden with the pool, gazebo and waterfall making it like a small paradise away from the busy street. Of course, the biggest chilly in the world in front of the hotel makes it a true gem in the desert.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room away from the street inside the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Las Cruces hotels
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Las Cruces
Days Inn Las Cruces
#7 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Las Cruces I-25
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Cruces Organ Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
BEST WESTERN Mission Inn
#9 of 33 in Las Cruces
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Las Cruces
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Las Cruces North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2160 West Picacho Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.