We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop here! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliche's Frozen Custard

Caliche's Frozen Custard
590 S Valley Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88005-2736
+1 575-647-5066
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must stop here! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Not only is the custard amazing but the service was great! Super friendly and nice order out in less than a minute and the custard was to die for. Try the gizmo-salted. Or the sand box. Both were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Leslie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
194 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lip Smacking Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

On our way home from dinner, we stopped here for desert. If not the best frozen custard we've ever had it was close. The variety of custard dishes was the largest I've ever seen. If my waist line could take it I would have tried several, but alas, I did the right thing and only had one serving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RueterRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

After living in Las Cruces, I miss this place the most. Every time I visit LC, going to Caliche's (formerly Scoopy's) is a mandatory stop. I get a U Name It sundae with strawberries, caramel and unsalted pecans. So yummy...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmsk7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great frozen custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Frozen custard just like Ted Drewes in St.Louis! Except with the addition of fresh salted Las Cruces pecans and caramel sauce....yum.... doesn't get any fresher or better than this. ..

Helpful?
1 Thank jmommamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Vanilla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've never understood all the fuss about this place. Maybe it's because there really aren't any other 'ice cream' shops in town?

They only serve Vanilla. You can get that Vanilla just about any way you want it - sundaes, floats, shakes, cones. But, again only Vanilla.

All the fuss for Vanilla? Seriously?

Probably a fun place to stop w/ kids. They do have 'Poochie Cones" for dogs. So, maybe take the whole family and enjoy a bit of roadside nostalgia - remembering days when you could casually pull into a drive-in roadside Ice Cream Shoppe and get anything you wanted - in Vanilla.

Big Plus for the Poochie Cones and simplicity of a local business.

Just wish they had something besides... yeah Vanilla.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Caliche's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing