We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop here! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caliche's Frozen Custard

Caliche's Frozen Custard
590 S Valley Dr, Las Cruces, NM 88005-2736
575-647-5066
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 322 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must stop here! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Not only is the custard amazing but the service was great! Super friendly and nice order out in less than a minute and the custard was to die for. Try the gizmo-salted. Or the sand box. Both were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Lip Smacking Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

On our way home from dinner, we stopped here for desert. If not the best frozen custard we've ever had it was close. The variety of custard dishes was the largest I've ever seen. If my waist line could take it I would have tried several, but alas, I did the right thing and only had one serving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolute best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

After living in Las Cruces, I miss this place the most. Every time I visit LC, going to Caliche's (formerly Scoopy's) is a mandatory stop. I get a U Name It sundae with strawberries, caramel and unsalted pecans. So yummy...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great frozen custard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Frozen custard just like Ted Drewes in St.Louis! Except with the addition of fresh salted Las Cruces pecans and caramel sauce....yum.... doesn't get any fresher or better than this. ..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Vanilla”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've never understood all the fuss about this place. Maybe it's because there really aren't any other 'ice cream' shops in town?

They only serve Vanilla. You can get that Vanilla just about any way you want it - sundaes, floats, shakes, cones. But, again only Vanilla.

All the fuss for Vanilla? Seriously?

Probably a fun place to stop w/ kids. They do have 'Poochie Cones" for dogs. So, maybe take the whole family and enjoy a bit of roadside nostalgia - remembering days when you could casually pull into a drive-in roadside Ice Cream Shoppe and get anything you wanted - in Vanilla.

Big Plus for the Poochie Cones and simplicity of a local business.

Just wish they had something besides... yeah Vanilla.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Caliche's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caliche's Frozen Custard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;