We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value place Las Cruces” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico

Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico to your Saves list
Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico
2080 South Triviz Drive, Las Cruces, NM 88001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Off First Week
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value place Las Cruces”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This the worst place that I have ever stayed at. The bed is a thin mattress that sits on a plank of plywood. Even as a broke twenty year old I slept on more comfortable floors. The tv was smaller than my lap top screen with such bad resolution. I would have used my laptop to watch shows but the internet did not work for the whole week I was there. I wanted to rent plates and pots and pans but for the seven days I was there they were not available and the set on display was off limits so I could see but could not have. I was supposed to stay there for 20 days after the sixth day I felt like it was a cell where prisoners went for punishment. I would rather pitch a tent on the side of I-25 than stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room anywhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
2
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here my first month or so while starting a new position in El Paso-mainly because of the close proximity to I-25 and NMSU. I, like several other people, decided to stay there because of the price and their efficiency-type rooms. I was offered their $29 kitchen set (upsell alert!), only to be told they were"out". I ended up at Walmart, where I bought my kitchen set (including coffee maker) for the same price as I would have paid for their's. Their entir staff-from the front desk to housekeeping) makes it a very enjoyable place to stay, and the location is just right-El Paso is only a 35 minute drive (even with the road construction), and downtown is only a few minutes away. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the east side (facing the freeway) unless you're an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at Value our helpful staff will make sure your guest experience is a positive one, whether you need something for your room or directions to the closest car repair shop. At Value Place, you can expect courteous treatment from professionals who are committed to maintaining guest privacy and peace of mind. We wish you well with your future travels and cant wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe NM
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

These folks make the place. John at night has a great attitude, as do the others. They make the place comfortable,CLEAN, quiet, and a home away from home. How about a great location across University Avenue from New Mexico State University and the community that serves it.
The best shopping mall in town a walk awaytoo.

Room Tip: stay a week as the rules state-you'll want to stay longer as I have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We appreciate your stay with us and glad to hear you had a great experience! No matter what brings you to Value Place, you can count on a respectful, helpful and friendly team dedicated to keeping the Value Place promise to our guests. Value Place prides on being clean and safe because your peace of mind matters! Again, thank you for lodging with us and we hope you'll come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe NM
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Rating the LC Value Place became necessary after reading the reviews of the dis-pleased.
First- The staff is terrific courteous and competent. The place is very clean, a big deal for me.
If the unhappy were as competent, they would have found a Comfort Inn next door(at 4 times the price-really $33.00 per night vs $120.00). I like the place and will stay there again. Yeah, the
Hilton has better everything.It's cost $150.00 per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
We appreciate you staying with us and glad to hear it was a good experience! No matter what brings you to Value Place, you can count on a respectful, helpful and friendly team dedicated to keeping the Value Place promise to our guests. Again, thank you for lodging with us, we wish you well in your future travels and we hope to see you again the next time you come through town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMLJOHN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I stayed here my first week while starting a new position in Las Cruces. I selected it because of the cost and because it had an efficiency type room. What I didn't know was the room has no kitchen stuff at all; no silverware, plates, cups or cookware. So I ended up at Walmart buying essentials I already had planned to move when I located a permenant place. Of course you can buy a set of 4 from the hotel. I rented a studio apartment but they lost the reservation, but they were willing to rent me the next size room (for an additional $100+). They did eventually find an available studio but only after much time, telephone calls and complaints.
The room is sparse at best and beware the "Damage Deposit" scam. The office is not staffed during normal hours people check in or out so if you don't get your deposit back when you leave... good luck. 2-weeks after I checked out I'm still chasing these scammers trying to get back my damage deposit. They won't call you back, they'll tell you they sent you a check (on a credit card deposit); it goes on and on. The advertised price gets you in the door and only then do you realize the true costs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

I stayed there for 5 weeks while waiting for my apartment to become available. I was actually pleasantly surprised with the room and service. I rented a smoking room and was impressed that it did not smell like smoke upon check in. The bed was extremely comfortable (and i'm picky about beds). The room was very clean and the staff came in to service the room once a week. It is located in a safe. All appliances worked fine. It was very quiet and the Staff (particularly John-Mgr, Robert and Jason were very friendly, professional and attended to any request immediately). The internet was faster than I had expected. I don't have any complaints. I would have liked more water pressure in the shower and more channels available on the TV (flat screen, decent quality), however, neither of the aforementioned made my stay any less comfortable. I would stay again and will recommend to friends and family visiting out of town. Other reviews stated hidden costs. I agree a little pricey (rent pots, pans, towels, etc) however, I was a responsible consumer and asked about additional charges before check in and brought my own stuff. Can't comment on deposit return, whereas, I don't check out until tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the compliments. We appreciated you staying with us for your trip very much and glad to hear that you would recommend Value Place to all of youre friends and family! No matter what brings you to Value Place, you can count on a respectful, helpful and friendly team dedicated to keeping the Value Place promise to our guests.We wish you well in your future travels and hope to see you again the next time you come through town. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I had read bad reviews about this place and thought to myself, "It can't be that bad?" I was WRONG! This place is terrible! First they put me in a non smoking room on the first floor by the entance, which was fine. What I didn't know was that people for some reason have party's late at night outside the entrance and my window. Not only did they party but, they would smoke. The smoke would get sucked into my room via the a/c unit right under the window. The result was a room that smelled terrible. I tried to get a room change but apparantly they are full and I will have to wait until there is an opening.

There is also a weird clause that states you have to inform in writing within 24 hours of checkout. It doesn't make sense to me because they already know my checkout date. It just seems like another way to make money because if you don't do it it will cost you a hefty 45 bucks.

Some other drawbacks:

Small tv's
Not many channels
no wireless internet (ethernet only)
internet super slow
no customer service
loud (next to I-25)
no closets
uncomfortable beds

pros:

weekly rates



All in all this place is so bad that i haven't even waited until I checked out to write this review.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico

Address: 2080 South Triviz Drive, Las Cruces, NM 88001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place Las Cruces is in the Mesilla Valley, the chili capitol of the world. Located between the Organ Mountains and the Rio Grande, Las Cruces, New Mexico is a popular southwestern destination offering a variety of unique special events, cultural, historical and recreational attractions, and 350 days of sunshine per year! At the crossroads of Interstate 10 and Interstate 25, Las Cruces is home to Spaceport America, which is the center of the commercial space exploration era. As a recreational destination, Las Cruces offers something for everyone from bird watching, hiking, river rafting on the Rio, mountain biking, and camping, to spectacular golf. For rockhounds, there are day trip opportunities to the Gila National Forest, City of Rocks and Rockhound State Parks. For history buffs, check out the Fort Selden State Monument were buffalo soldiers where once stationed. If it's arts and culture you’re looking for, Las Cruces has museums, numerous art galleries, multiple performing arts venues, and unique farmers and craft markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Las Cruces Hotel Las Cruces

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Las Cruces, New Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.