We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent little hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2635 South Valley Drive, Las Cruces, NM 88005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Las Cruces
Lawton, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent little hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I've spent several nights here over the last couple of years and really have no complaints. The rooms are always clean, the bed is comfy, the television has a decent selection of channels and the breakfast is quite good with eggs, bacon and cinnamon rolls. The only negative thing I can think of is the shower head in my room needed to be cleaned...it basically shot out in all directions and was impossible to use without setting it to one of the massage settings. Other than that, all of my stays here have been pleasant and uneventful.

Room Tip: Lobby can be a bit noisy...try to get upstairs if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Wayne777,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our property.

We are glad you enjoy your stays when you come into Las Cruces.

We also apologize for the inconvienence with your shower head, and are currently taking measures to remedy the situation.

Once again, Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you as our guest.

Sincerely,
Daniel Duarte
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
35
24
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good place to spend the night ... clean and comfortable ... TV, wifi work well ... breakfast better than average.
The bathroom clean and the bed very comfortable.
I didn't appreciate the odors others have noted.
Good value using a discount coupon.
Friendly and helpful staff ... I'd stop there again if I were staying overnight in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Allen T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are also happy you enjoyed your stay.

We appologize for our air freshener, and please know that we are in the process of taking steps to minimize the odor.

Once again, Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Daniel D
Front Desk Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was here for 40 days. Everyone from the GM to Housekeeping are professionals. excelent suites and rooms. I travel 100% of the time and i never seen a team that really cares for there guests like this team! they have a names: Victor, Chris, Brian, Gabby,April,Crystal,Amy,Jesus and my favorite night auditor, Carol!! They are proof that Americas youth are professionals and well educated! when you spend the time i do on the road, you need a team to keep you going from faxing to a towel, They got it!
if you like mew restaurants they have all at a short distance from the hotel. It is quiet and no traffic sounds.


If you want to be treated well and get the best stay for your money this is the place to come.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express & Suites was typically clean and nice as most of the chain are, but there was a extremely overwhelming smell of cleaner or deodorizer as soon as you walked in the lobby. It smelled as though one of the men in the lobby had put on way too much cologne. At first, that's what I thought it was until we proceeded to our room and the smell was throughout the hotel. It is less extreme in the room and hallway to the room, but the complete lobby area, including the breakfast area, was quite smelly. I think we got used to it as we were in the room, but it was not pleasant.

Other than the smell, the room and bed were quite comfortable and were nothing less than expected from a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Kathleen L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property.

We apologize for the strength of our air freshener. We are currently taking steps to remedy the situation. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Once again, Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Daniel D
Front Desk Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Las Cruces
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My stay with Holiday hotels are typically allright (comfortabe beds) but this hotel has a deodorizing system in their air conditioning system that can be harmful to your well being! Although I complained they did not offer to move me from the first floor and I assume because it is in the entire complex. So remember if it smells in the lobby it will smell in your room all night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatriz Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Golftigress,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our property.

We apologize for the inconvenience our air freshener caused you. Please know that we are currently taking steps to remedy the strength of our air freshener.

We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Daniel D
Front Desk Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Las Cruces NM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were traveling cross country and stayed in nothing but Holiday Inn Express (LOVE the beds). We were surprised that the price was as high as it was in Las Cruces, considering the rooms were not the newer, modern designs and the AC didn't work very well. Of all the Holiday Inn Express hotels we stayed in this was the MOST expensive and was not the nicest. The price was still decent though, just about $20 over the others we stayed in. The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly. The guy at the front desk fibbed to us a little (it was obvious) about room availability and pricing but we were so tired we didn't bother to point it out. We slept well (didn't hear the noise others have commented on here). The breakfast was ok... enough to start your day. All in all its a good hotel and I'd stay here again....but Holiday Inn Express has done better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Initially, we were very pleased with the hotel as it was very clean with polite staff and modern amenities (granite countertops, great bed, etc). After a nice afternoon shopping and eating in the quaint town of Mesilla (just a few miles away), we were ready to hit the sheets. We were very disappointed to find that the air conditioning just shuts off periodically for no apparent reason. We called the front desk in the middle of the night to ensure the AC was set correctly and the concierge said, "Yea, it just does that. I think it's because it's 'green' or something." We were also super annoyed by the thin walls and poor noise insulation as we heard screaming children through the night. Last small annoyance, they didn't have a vending machine for snacks, so don't come here hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces

Address: 2635 South Valley Drive, Las Cruces, NM 88005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Las Cruces
#12 Business Hotel in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces. Enjoy a relaxing stay in our beautiful Las Cruces Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near New Mexico State University and just a few minutes from historic Old Mesilla. Families enjoy this Southern New Mexico hotel because of our great location near New Mexico State University,and because we are conveniently located just off I-10 and I-25 with easy access to nearby Las Cruces attractions. These attractions include Historic Old Mesilla,the New Mexico Farm & Ranch Heritage Museum and the Las Cruces Farmers & Crafts Market. Leisure travelers can shop at nearby Mesilla Valley Mall or the historic Old Mesilla Plaza, featuring over 40 Southwestern craft shops. Lodging in Las Cruces puts you in the center of the Old West's history. Why settle for cheap lodging in Las Cruces, New Mexico when you can enjoy our comfortable and smoke free hotel near Old Mesilla? Business travelers will appreciate our close location to New Mexico State University, as well as our meeting rooms, free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services. Our Southern New Mexico hotel provides a complimentary hot breakfast bar, a well-equipped, 24-hour fitness center and an indoor, heated pool with a spa & steam room. Book your reservations now and take advantage of our great Las Cruces hotel deals and rates for your next stay in New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Las Cruces
Las Cruces Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Las Cruces

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Las Cruces, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.