We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prehistoric Trackways National Monument

Prehistoric Trackways National Monument
Rocky Acres Trail, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575.525.4300
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Skip it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was declared a monument before the funding was there to make it accessible for visitors. Hard to find, poor signage and lack of any interpretation make it a disappointing experience. Don't waste your time, there's nothing to see here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't Call Me Dinosaur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Established as a National Monument in 2009, this site contains the greatest record of Early Permian trackways (footprints) in the world! These creatures pre-date the dinosaur record and provide a fascinating glimpse into life when the continents were joined and much of southern New Mexico was a shallow sea. Call BLM office 575-525-4487 for schedule of tours to one of the discovery sites.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Extremely interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

New Mexico fossils are pre-dinosaur sea creatures! Yes, it was once an ocean. Find your own fossil in the "yours-for-the-taking" and be sure to go on a ranger led hike. It's well worth it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Desert Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We enjoyed our little hike in the area canyons. Be aware that this is a very high clearance 4WD area. Got a little dicey with a fellow shooting targets, but he was aware of us and seemed careful. We rock hounded in the creek beds. Expect to do a lot of boulder scrambling. The only downside was the graffiti on the canyon walls. Not what we expected in the BLM area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prehistoric Trackways National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Prehistoric Trackways National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prehistoric Trackways National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.