We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful with rock climbing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soledad Canyon Day Use Area

Soledad Canyon Day Use Area
Soledad Canyon and Bar Canyon, Las Cruces, NM
5755254300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Attractions in Las Cruces
Attraction Details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful with rock climbing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I have taken my 11 year old hiking here. We always Rock climb up to the pools. One of the best trails in Las Cruces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hiking in Las Cruces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Right on the outskirts of Las Cruces in Organ Mountains. A short hike into the canyon, well marked trail a few mile loop. Beautiful views of the mountains and surrounding valley area. Can be hot - wear good shoes and bring water.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and accessible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I shouldn't recommend this hike. It is relatively undiscovered. But, here is my traitorous review: The trail takes a large loop without much elevation change, so is easy for everyone. The view is marvelous, it is peaceful, and you feel 100 miles from the city because the canyon opens up after you enter a narrow portal. Also, there is a hidden treasure of a waterfall if you dare venture a little further. Look for it yourself. The area residents are not hiker-friendly, so don't park on the road outside the gate. It is a premier hike. No facilities. None. So, be prepared.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheesehead on the road
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Soul in Soledad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a wonderful hike, both into the canyons themselves, or if you only go back to the old ranch. We've done both and had great experiences.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great little hike up and down arroyo's with views of Organ Mts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Easy drive with a short dirt road approach to reach. Nice elevation going up hill. A few miles round trip. It looks like there are several trails leading up hill that are not part of the trail system. This takes much less effort to reach than driving the long several miles of dirt/stone that leads to Dripping Springs. However, much of this trail reminds me of Dripping Springs. I like it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soledad Canyon Day Use Area also viewed

 

Been to Soledad Canyon Day Use Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soledad Canyon Day Use Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.