We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Salad Bar and Green Chile Won-Tons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood

Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood
790 S Telshor Blvd, Las Cruces, NM 88011-4621
575-522-7533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 321 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Salad Bar and Green Chile Won-Tons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A group of us girls came to have the salad bar for lunch. It was overflowing with various types of salad, vegetables, pastas, potatoes, desserts, and soups. It was perfect for an unlimited lunch. As an appetizer we got the green chili won-tons. They were excellent and came with two different sauces, one was a soy sauce and one was a ranch. The service and ambience were great, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    34
    38
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salad Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We normally go to Cattle Barons on Sunday for their salad bar. On Sunday they have posole as part of the salad bar. The posole is nice and spicy. I put alittle shredded cheese in the bottom of the bowl, then add the posole and let the cheese melt. There is also another soup on the bar but that varies. Everything is always fresh. There are the usual items on the bar but they also have several varieties of salads. There is macaroni salad, coleslaw, carrot salad, Italian and many more. There is a variety of fruits too. Depending on the season you can enjoy watermelon, strawberries, cantaloupe, grapes and fruit salads. There is chocolate mousse and whipped cream for dipping too. Desserts are also on the bar. Bread pudding and banana pudding (with vanilla wafers) hits the spot. All this for under $9. Try it out soon. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Salad Bar Excells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Several Las Cruces restaurants feature a salad bar, but the Cattle Baron's is by far the best in my experience. Also, the draft beer selection includes dark ales as well as good ole Dos Equis Lager. I liked the straw onion rings they had on their old menu better than what they serve now, but you can't beat their generous, delicious burgers and fries. Great value overall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Top Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband loves the salad bar and gets that as his meal. I have had really good prime rib here. We try to go before 4:00 pm to get the lunch prices! Great deal.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average steak for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was here on business and decided to try this place. The atmosphere is very nice and is very casual. I started with the salad bar which has something for everyone. That was the best part of my meal. I ordered a strip steak which was just ok. There was hardly any flavor to it. My side was the vegetable of the day, which was broccoli...that looked and tasted like it was left over from the day before. Next time I am in town, I will skip the steak and go for some local cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.