We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salad Bar Excells” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood

Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood
790 S Telshor Blvd, Las Cruces, NM 88011-4621
575-522-7533
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 309 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Salad Bar Excells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Several Las Cruces restaurants feature a salad bar, but the Cattle Baron's is by far the best in my experience. Also, the draft beer selection includes dark ales as well as good ole Dos Equis Lager. I liked the straw onion rings they had on their old menu better than what they serve now, but you can't beat their generous, delicious burgers and fries. Great value overall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    53
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Top Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband loves the salad bar and gets that as his meal. I have had really good prime rib here. We try to go before 4:00 pm to get the lunch prices! Great deal.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average steak for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was here on business and decided to try this place. The atmosphere is very nice and is very casual. I started with the salad bar which has something for everyone. That was the best part of my meal. I ordered a strip steak which was just ok. There was hardly any flavor to it. My side was the vegetable of the day, which was broccoli...that looked and tasted like it was left over from the day before. Next time I am in town, I will skip the steak and go for some local cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awful Service and Cold Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We went on Easter Sunday and sat in the bar because the restaurant was full. It went down hill from there. The waitress was vague, forgot our menus, forgot butter for the bread...twice. The food was cold when we got it....The second order of bread we got was raw in the middle and no butter. Cold shrivelled up chips, cold onion rings...just nasty. Coke was flat and it took 15 mins to pay our bill.....awful Service equals no tip!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good, really good salad bar, menu needs to be updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a consistently good restaurant with a solid basic menu selection. We have lived here 15 years and I notice almost no change in product offering. Frankly, I am "tired" of rarely seeing something new. Maybe that is good.....I am not sure. For visitors - I would recommend the specialty "steak toppings", the already mentioned salad bar, and the catfish. I wish the bread were more "yeasty" as what they serve has little flavor. (there are so many other restaurants that have really good bread, that this is kind of a big deal). Prices are a tiny bit on the high side - for this area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood also viewed

 
Las Cruces, NM
 

Been to Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattle Baron Steak & Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.