We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero Patio Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Sombrero Patio Cafe
363 S Espina St, Las Cruces, NM 88001-3222
575-524-9911
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 323 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“still the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

A recent lunch at El Sombrero reminded us how the small things they do make a big difference. The warm chips and cool salsa start the meal right; such a nice touch to warm the chips. We tried to eat a little lighter and our server Marlissa was glad to accomodate a request for only 2 tostadas compuestas, not 3. We ordered the regular plate anyway. The Rellleno combo plate is hubby's favorite and it looked great. The fajitas going to other tables looked and smelled wonderful, so we might be back at El Sombrero soon to broaden our menu choices.
Gotta say: on a previous review, I said the decor was lacking. We must have sat in the one undecorated corner that visit. More recently, I notice El Sombrero makes effort at seasonal and theme decor with mucho gusto. Lots of knickknacks but all clean and orderly, in some fashion.They've been in business since 1956 and have a few treasures to show off, while serving great food with above average service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great green enchiladas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Last night three of each had green enchiladas for only $28+tip. We only drank water, but ate 2rounds of chips before the enchiladas. Great service, clean, welcoming!,

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Still Las Cruces' best Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Whenever I visit my "home town" of Las Cruces, dinner at El Sombrero is a must. Year in and year out, it's among the top 3 Mexican restaurants in town. The green enchiladas and red chile con carne are "to die for". Can't beat the prices, and the servers/staff are usually friendly and efficient. I usually have the Combo #3, which I did on this last visit. Excellent as always. Can't wait 'til next time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tiny Taco Tortillas With Salt Laden Cubed Carnitas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here many times over the years. No more. The last few visits have been an extreme disappointment. Today we had stale chips served with a spicy watery salsa. Iced tea was so sweet it hurt your teeth. Our favorite carnitas is now a super salty small cubes of pork served in soft corn tortillas that, without exaggeration, are 3-4 inches around. The tortillas are so small that almost no filling can be held within them. At one time they had tasty shredded carnitas served inside normally sized tortillas. Such a disappointment these last few visits. We will not return.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Popular, but not worth the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food, service and atmosphere are all average. The prices are higher than some of the better Mexican restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Patio Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Patio Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero Patio Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.