We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Can't Be Beat, Lunch Good Too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mesilla Valley Kitchen

Mesilla Valley Kitchen
2001 E Lohman Ave Ste 103, Las Cruces, NM 88001
(505) 523-9311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 321 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast Can't Be Beat, Lunch Good Too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were there for lunch this time, but had breakfast a few months ago. Go get the pancakes. If you're just moderately hungry, just order one because they cover a large plate. Don't know how they can even flip a hotcake that big. They are delicious. So are the omelets. The large menu written on the wall has a variety of local favorites -- burritos, burgers with green chili, etc. The employees are always friendly and helpful. It's a very nice experience with good food. Parking right by the door.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    26
    17
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum - Bacon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I found some good reviews of MVK on TripAdvisor and we decided to give it a try for breakfast. You review the menu on the wall, order at the register and they bring out the food. Ordering was a little slow, but the food came out super fast and YUM. My husband does not eat eggs and they had a delicious potato, meat, cheese, green chili thing that was right up his alley. I had bacon and eggs, can't say enough about the bacon. Service in the dining area was attentive and nice, our water glasses and coffee cups were never empty.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Local Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Mesilla Valley Kitchen is a local winner. They serve breakfast and lunch daily and are open until 2 pm. From their dinner plate size cinnamon rolls to their green chile cheeseburgers and homemade potato chips, the food is always good. They are not fancy but they are authentic.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Southwest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yum - Breakfast Burritos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

MVK is one of the best (if not THE best) place for breakfast in Las Cruces. The green sauce satisfies my cravings. Sometimes I order the burrito unconstructed, the large tortilla can be a bit overpowering. But it's still my #1 choice for breakfast. :) My only complaint - they aren't open for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Trip Advisor's reviewers gave this restaiurant high marks so while on a recent business trip I decided to have breakfast here as opposed to the hotel mini-bagel and hard-boiled egg.

I wasn't let down. The restaurant is unpretentious and located in a strip mall. The interior is clean and similarly simple with some mission touches.

The menu is large - literally - it's printed on an entire wall near the register where you order - with lots of Southwestern and American choices. The menu also features several vegetarian and heart-healthy choices.

I selected huevos rancheros - the portion covered an entire dinner platter: two eggs, four corn tortillas, home fried potatoes, pinto beans, covered in cheese and New Mexico green or red (I chose some of both) chiles. And two flour tortillas to sop up whatever sauce the rest of the food couldn't - completely redundant but tasty.

Let's just say I didn't need lunch that day.

Highly recommended for big appetites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesilla Valley Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mesilla Valley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesilla Valley Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.