We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Local Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mesilla Valley Kitchen

Mesilla Valley Kitchen
2001 E Lohman Ave Ste 103, Las Cruces, NM 88001
(505) 523-9311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 321 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Local Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Mesilla Valley Kitchen is a local winner. They serve breakfast and lunch daily and are open until 2 pm. From their dinner plate size cinnamon rolls to their green chile cheeseburgers and homemade potato chips, the food is always good. They are not fancy but they are authentic.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    26
    17
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Desert Southwest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yum - Breakfast Burritos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

MVK is one of the best (if not THE best) place for breakfast in Las Cruces. The green sauce satisfies my cravings. Sometimes I order the burrito unconstructed, the large tortilla can be a bit overpowering. But it's still my #1 choice for breakfast. :) My only complaint - they aren't open for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great breakfast choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Trip Advisor's reviewers gave this restaiurant high marks so while on a recent business trip I decided to have breakfast here as opposed to the hotel mini-bagel and hard-boiled egg.

I wasn't let down. The restaurant is unpretentious and located in a strip mall. The interior is clean and similarly simple with some mission touches.

The menu is large - literally - it's printed on an entire wall near the register where you order - with lots of Southwestern and American choices. The menu also features several vegetarian and heart-healthy choices.

I selected huevos rancheros - the portion covered an entire dinner platter: two eggs, four corn tortillas, home fried potatoes, pinto beans, covered in cheese and New Mexico green or red (I chose some of both) chiles. And two flour tortillas to sop up whatever sauce the rest of the food couldn't - completely redundant but tasty.

Let's just say I didn't need lunch that day.

Highly recommended for big appetites!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Good Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

If you are put off by walking into an order it before you sit down kind of place be prepared. I usually am and often turn away. But based on the reviews we went ahead and ordered. I had a breakfast quesadilla that was quite stuffed with egg, cheese and enough sausage to be very good. My wife had a “Becky’s Breakfast Sandwich that was really very good. She gave me a bite and it was good!

The guy that took the order was very personable and quite friendly. I asked whether I should have the green or red chili he suggested both. Good thing because they were both very good with great flavor without too much heat.

We’d go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Right on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great service and great food. Huevos rancheros could of had more potatoes but other than that, it was fantastic, and I also ordered pancakes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesilla Valley Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mesilla Valley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesilla Valley Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.