We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest Visitors Centers..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Dripping Springs Road, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575 522 1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Attractions in Las Cruces
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the nicest Visitors Centers..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling full time in an RV for 2 years and have been hiking around the US. This was one of the nicest, quant places we have been. The visitors center is small but very well kept and landscaped. The Park Rangers on duty were polite, helpful and welcoming! They even have free water for those who ask for it! If you are looking for an easy short hike this is perfect. We enjoyed the hike to Dripping Springs, it has some interesting old buildings and is full of history. Then we went on to hike over to the cave, that was nice too, with many benches along the way if you need to take a rest. The entire hike was about 5 miles. Great place for sure!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    21
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Historic hike not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I first found this hike on trip advisor and thought it would be a fun activity with the family. We had a wonderful experience and would highly recommend. The staff at the visitors center were so nice and informative. The visitor guide took time to talk with each of our kids and gave them some posters and showed them briefly around the center.

The walk was fairly easy but it is uphill with a few steep inclines. Proper footwear is a must as the roads are gravel. Make sure you have enough water for the hike as well, as there is no water on trail. It was a nice suprise to see the natural benches built in along the way for a quick rest.

The highlight is the historical ruins at the top of the trail. We enjoyed learning the history of the early century resort.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great short hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I are interested in birds and other critters, so we decided to go to Dripping Springs to see what we could find. We went on the 3 mile round trip hike and it was perfect for us--not too strenuous. It was hot, but we had water, so it was fine. Because of the drought, there is no water in the waterfall, but it is still an interesting place to hike to. It is the site of a former hotel and then a sanitorium many years ago. There are a couple of other trails to explore, but it was just too hot and uncomfortable to try to do those that day. The small visitor center was interesting and the volunteer BLM employees were very pleasant and knowledgeable. The restrooms were clean and well maintained as well. As far as critters are concerned, we did see several interesting birds, and we understand that there are snakes and deer there as well, but we didn't encounter any of those. There is also a cougar in the area, and we did not see it either--probably a good thing! We would go back and hike there again during cooler weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Glimpse into the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful place to hike, when it is not mid summer. The trails are fairly easy to climb and well maintained. Along the way there are historical markers and pictures of the way it looked back in the wild west days. What a view is affords, no matter which way you turn. If you love nature and out outdoors, you will enjoy Dripping Springs. It makes you really think about the luxuries we take for granted today, and how hard life must have been back then. The solitude it almost overwhelming. Great place to get away from it all and gain perspective.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A nice area to hike around that has some interesting history. I like the filmore canyon area and la cueva myself.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dripping Springs Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.