We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short hike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Dripping Springs Road, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575 522 1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 attractions in Las Cruces
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great short hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I are interested in birds and other critters, so we decided to go to Dripping Springs to see what we could find. We went on the 3 mile round trip hike and it was perfect for us--not too strenuous. It was hot, but we had water, so it was fine. Because of the drought, there is no water in the waterfall, but it is still an interesting place to hike to. It is the site of a former hotel and then a sanitorium many years ago. There are a couple of other trails to explore, but it was just too hot and uncomfortable to try to do those that day. The small visitor center was interesting and the volunteer BLM employees were very pleasant and knowledgeable. The restrooms were clean and well maintained as well. As far as critters are concerned, we did see several interesting birds, and we understand that there are snakes and deer there as well, but we didn't encounter any of those. There is also a cougar in the area, and we did not see it either--probably a good thing! We would go back and hike there again during cooler weather.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Glimpse into the Past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Beautiful place to hike, when it is not mid summer. The trails are fairly easy to climb and well maintained. Along the way there are historical markers and pictures of the way it looked back in the wild west days. What a view is affords, no matter which way you turn. If you love nature and out outdoors, you will enjoy Dripping Springs. It makes you really think about the luxuries we take for granted today, and how hard life must have been back then. The solitude it almost overwhelming. Great place to get away from it all and gain perspective.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hike”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

A nice area to hike around that has some interesting history. I like the filmore canyon area and la cueva myself.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jshanson
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A hike that has history with it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There are several "hikes" to take
Some harder with elevations...and there is also an easier one for us older seniors..
This is BLM land,and it is "fee" charge area but it is only $3 a car.
You can enjoy with Wildlife viewing, hiking, picnicking.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“hiking with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have wanted to do a hike here because it is close and has history. took 6 buddies in the hike, we had a great time looking at nature and it was geat weather, suny but not too hot.
will go again with bigger group.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dripping Springs Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dripping Springs Natural Area to your Saves list