We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History hidden away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Dripping Springs Road, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575 522 1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Attractions in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“History hidden away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was an old health resort during the turn of the last century. Some of the old building structures remain. It has a very walkable trail suitable for most ages which wanders through some very scenic desert areas. It is especially pretty when the cactus are in bloom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    31
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hiked at Dripping Springs the day our dog was at the groomer since no dogs allowed here. We did not hike up to the spring/old resort but walked the circuit around the massive rock formation on the left as you approach. We walked clockwise. The climb up the ridge after the rock formation to get back to the main trail was challenging and not well represented by the map provided.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Views and Challenging Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The longer 4 mile trail was very rocky, but take it slow and it will be worth it! Minimal elevation change made it easier. Great views of Las Cruces. And you can visit a cave used by prehistoric native Americas and lived in by a 19th century religious hermit. Interesting visitors center with staff knowledgeable about the history and natural history of the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good hike in a little known park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hike to the historic buildings is not long, about 2 miles, but it IS uphill. We were not told that, athough we were prepared with water, good shoes, etc. The website says it's an easy climb, but it's closer to a moderate hike. There is a gravelled trail with a 500 foot elevation. The historic site is very interesting, a good way to get up into the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not a very big hiker but my husband and I decided to do the dripping springs trail. It was a fairly easy hike with lots of scenery. The trail is all gravel and can be slippery. When you get to the end you see an old resort, sanatorium, and the dripping spring. Was a fun hike and would recommend for anyone looking for scenery and history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dripping Springs Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.