We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History hidden away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Dripping Springs Road, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575 522 1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 attractions in Las Cruces
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“History hidden away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was an old health resort during the turn of the last century. Some of the old building structures remain. It has a very walkable trail suitable for most ages which wanders through some very scenic desert areas. It is especially pretty when the cactus are in bloom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, MA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hiked at Dripping Springs the day our dog was at the groomer since no dogs allowed here. We did not hike up to the spring/old resort but walked the circuit around the massive rock formation on the left as you approach. We walked clockwise. The climb up the ridge after the rock formation to get back to the main trail was challenging and not well represented by the map provided.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Views and Challenging Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The longer 4 mile trail was very rocky, but take it slow and it will be worth it! Minimal elevation change made it easier. Great views of Las Cruces. And you can visit a cave used by prehistoric native Americas and lived in by a 19th century religious hermit. Interesting visitors center with staff knowledgeable about the history and natural history of the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A good hike in a little known park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hike to the historic buildings is not long, about 2 miles, but it IS uphill. We were not told that, athough we were prepared with water, good shoes, etc. The website says it's an easy climb, but it's closer to a moderate hike. There is a gravelled trail with a 500 foot elevation. The historic site is very interesting, a good way to get up into the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not a very big hiker but my husband and I decided to do the dripping springs trail. It was a fairly easy hike with lots of scenery. The trail is all gravel and can be slippery. When you get to the end you see an old resort, sanatorium, and the dripping spring. Was a fun hike and would recommend for anyone looking for scenery and history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dripping Springs Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dripping Springs Natural Area to your Saves list