We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Dripping Springs Road, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575 522 1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A difficult circuit around the massive rock formation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We hiked at Dripping Springs the day our dog was at the groomer since no dogs allowed here. We did not hike up to the spring/old resort but walked the circuit around the massive rock formation on the left as you approach. We walked clockwise. The climb up the ridge after the rock formation to get back to the main trail was challenging and not well represented by the map provided.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    44
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome Views and Challenging Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The longer 4 mile trail was very rocky, but take it slow and it will be worth it! Minimal elevation change made it easier. Great views of Las Cruces. And you can visit a cave used by prehistoric native Americas and lived in by a 19th century religious hermit. Interesting visitors center with staff knowledgeable about the history and natural history of the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good hike in a little known park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hike to the historic buildings is not long, about 2 miles, but it IS uphill. We were not told that, athough we were prepared with water, good shoes, etc. The website says it's an easy climb, but it's closer to a moderate hike. There is a gravelled trail with a 500 foot elevation. The historic site is very interesting, a good way to get up into the mountains.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I'm not a very big hiker but my husband and I decided to do the dripping springs trail. It was a fairly easy hike with lots of scenery. The trail is all gravel and can be slippery. When you get to the end you see an old resort, sanatorium, and the dripping spring. Was a fun hike and would recommend for anyone looking for scenery and history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place for a easy hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited Dripping Springs and hiked up to the hotel sight. The hike was fairly easy and had some nice scenery / views along the way. All in all the hike is pretty flat. The old buildings are sort of interesting - nothing too exciting. I have to say that the volunteers at the visitor center were wonderful! They have us information, maps, and bottles of water. They were really fun and left a wonderful impression of Dripping Springs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dripping Springs Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.