We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and well-maintained” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dripping Springs Natural Area

Dripping Springs Natural Area
Dripping Springs Road, Las Cruces, NM 88005-3370
575 522 1219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 attractions in Las Cruces
Type: Parks
Attraction Details
Albuquerque, NM USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful and well-maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a beautiful hike / trail run with well-maintained gravel trails. You can choose trail lengths of 3-5 miles. We did the 5 mile option, touring the abandoned resort, dripping springs, dry waterfall, and hermit cave areas. This is a great day hike area with kids. We saw tarantulas and quail on the trail and others told us they saw coyotes and mule deer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hiking--Our Favorite Thing in Las Cruces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We enjoyed a beautiful Sunday morning hike to Dripping Springs from the Visitor Center. It's a 3 mile total in and out to a 19th century resort and early 1900s TB hotel hidden back in the hills
at about 6900' elevation, witha view over the Las Cruces area.
We liked that no one else was on the trail until we started down, and the interesting structures at the top. A real treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice place for hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The view is beautiful, and the length of the trail is adequate for amateurs to take a nice walk.
The tap water and the fountain water comes from mountain well. It has a great taste. Bring a container and stay refreshed while hiking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“saw a deer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

good place for a easy hike and see wildlifes.but too hot in summer day time...better go there early or late in a day of summer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"A Must Try"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My first hike EVER!!! When we finally got to the Dripping Spring section of our hike, it was amazing. You have to be careful going down the trail for photos, but it's worth it. There's actually a rope rail to guide you and for safety. Not much of a drip necessarily but the experience of the hike in general and my very patient tour guide, Vince, made it even more special. Family friendly, kids will love it, great for beginners like me, I even saw a rattle snake for the first time ever, up-close too. Scary and awesome. Good times.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dripping Springs Natural Area also viewed

 

Been to Dripping Springs Natural Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dripping Springs Natural Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dripping Springs Natural Area to your Saves list