We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Lodge on the Desert

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Cruces
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Lodge on the Desert
Save
You added A Lodge on the Desert to your Saves list
5353 Spirit Ridge Ct., Las Cruces, NM 88007   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Las Cruces B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“More than a B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is an amazing property overlooking Las Cruces, NM. The views alone are worth a stay. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, clean, and include every possible amenity. It feels as if you are staying in an apartment rather than a bedroom!

LaVerne, the proprietor, makes you feel right at home and goes out of her way to ensure you have a fabulous stay. There is a separate area for breakfast, and LaVerne supplies coffee, rolls, cereal, juice, etc. If you are lucky, she will give you a tour of her beautiful home. There are four well-behaved German Shepherds on the property.

It is easily accessible from I-10 and a good base to explore Mesilla and surrounding areas. Good for long-term stays or a quick stopover. Strong WiFi connection.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review! My staff and I are happy that you had such a good time.
We all agree with you, that our views are awesome. Come back soon.
LaVerne Tromble, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    9
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
33
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Wow, this is a gem in the desert. It was a lot more than I was expecting. The rooms are very spacious and a great value for the money. They're clean, comfortable, well furnished, bright, have nice views... in a word, lovely. Both of our rooms had kitchens stocked with plates, pans, silverware, wine glasses, a sink and a stove, a full size fridge - the works. The best feature of the lodge is the proprietor, LaVerne. She was happy to accommodate us arriving at a ridiculous hour and making a last minute reservation. She went out of her way to make us at home. The breakfast is not the highpoint of the lodge; the view is. It's desert landscape, so don't expect a lush garden, but it's a beautiful, rugged vista. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is VERY comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guests, We are happy that you enjoyed your rooms. I hope your family is settled in their new surroundings and that they are doing well. It was a pleasure accommodating your late arrival. I look forward to your next visit. Thank you for your great review.
LaVerne Tromble, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We fell in love with the Lodge as soon as we settled in. In fact, we liked it so much we stayed an extra week, and then booked a whole month for next year. We had one of the smaller suites but it was very roomy and comfortable, had a great bed, interesting furnishings, a full kitchen, and nice bath. But one needn't be stuck in ones room. There are plenty of other wonderful places in the Lodge, and out on the huge patios, to relax, have a meal, read a book, chat with others staying at the Lodge, or just gaze out at the view, which during the day is of the city and the Organ Mountains beyond, and at night is the lights of the city spread out like a sparkling blanket. The Lodge is unique, full of beautiful tile work, and unique southwestern furnishings and art. LaVerne is a great hostess. What a great discovery!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Guests, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We all appreciated your graciousness. Thanks for sharing your newly published book with us. All of us are looking forward to your return visit next year. LaVerne Tromble, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

A Lodge on the Desert is an excellent choice if you are staying in Las Cruces. Our room was comfortable, individually decorated, and quiet! The view of Las Cruces and the Organ Mtns is stunning. The continental breakfast is generous: if it is not sufficient, you can cook your own hot breakfast in your room. The hostess is gracious, outgoing, and will do everything she can to make your stay pleasant. The acreage surrounding the lodge is full of native Chihuahuan desert birds, and they come to feed in the garden and drink at the fountain. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when visiting Las Cruces.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and well-furnished. The larger rooms have more space and larger kitchens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Guests, It was such a pleasure having the two of you here! It was wonderful that all our desert birds cooperated, and am glad the roadrunner finally showed himself. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Lodge. My staff and I look forward to your next 'birding' adventure! LaVerne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I recently moved from TX to CA and stayed here en route (Executive room #1), and loved it. The room was unique, and the host showed us great hospitality. We would definitely come here again. The breakfast was only OK, but for the price I didn't expect anything. Very convenient off of I-10, but far enough away to be quiet and safe. Thanks!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Guests, Thanks for your lovely review. We wish you could have stayed longer too - it is always such a pleasure to meet young couples like the two of you! I wish all the best for you in your new home in California. LaVerne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitan, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was the nicest hotel we have ever spend the night at. Very clean, the owners were
just the nicest folks in the world.

Great Views, everything you needed is right there. The decorations were out of this
world.

We would recomend this to anyone that wants to get away and have a great time.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest, We are happy that you enjoyed your visit! I shall pass your complimentary words on to my loyal staff. And, we look forward to your return for "Cowboy Days". Thanks so much. LaVerne Tromble, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our annual trip to New Mexico for the Hatch Chile Festival wouldn't be complete without the wonderful lodging experience at "A Lodge on the Desert." We love room #7, which is really a full suite complete with a comfortable bed, incredible bathroom, full kitchen, and patio with a beautiful view. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 7 is incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubyBelle, Owner at A Lodge on the Desert, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest, We love it when you come back each year! Thank you so much for your review. All of us here at the Lodge were happy to hear you enjoyed your suite, and, the Chili Festival. Sincerely, LaVerne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Lodge on the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Lodge on the Desert

Address: 5353 Spirit Ridge Ct., Las Cruces, NM 88007
Location: United States > New Mexico > Las Cruces
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Cruces
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, private and secluded. Elegant suites, with private entrance, bath, kitchen and patio/balcony. Luxurious linens. Antiques, lavish tile, fountains and gardens. We sit on 26 acres, high on a hill, mountain vistas in all directions, Mesilla Valley farmland, Rio Grande river, and sparkly Las Cruces night lights at your feet. Stonewalls, adobe walls and wrought iron enclose the Lodge. Dawn to dusk lighting for security and nighttime enjoyment of the patios and garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Lodge on the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.