We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for romantics of all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria

Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria
1321 Avenida de Mesilla, Las Cruces, NM 88005
+1 575-526-2484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 332 Restaurants in Las Cruces
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A great place for romantics of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A great place for folks to taste test the wine, devour the Pizza and enjoy the gelato. My wife said to make sure to tell all it was as good as any she had in Italy.

I ordered a spicy Italian Sausage Pizza and she wanted to try the Green chile and Italian Ham pizza. We took a bunch of it home. It was excellent. The crust is very thin. The prep time for the Pizza was surprisingly brief. We sampled some wine and ended up both having Montepulciano. You can buy a bottle for $18, but we both went with a glass of each for $6 a glass. It was an extremely generous portion.

The staff was excellent and they were BUSY. We ate early and the folks just kept coming in. It was on a Friday evening. This is a worthwhile stop if you are in the Messilla or Las Cruces area and you wish to sample the wine of New Mexico. You can also order the wine from their website and they will ship it to you. That web site is: http://www.lunarossawinery.com/wines

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem in New Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Not only is this a wine tasting room of an award winning New Mexican winery, it has scrumptious pizza and gelato! We were staying at an RV park down the road and my husband read a good review of it and said let's go for a walk! I was a bit surprised to find this gem right around the corner, not in a strip mall but in a new stand alone building with a warm inviting patio. The management and owner were so welcoming and were pouring us free tastes of their wines. From Pinot Grigios to Tempranillos to Shiraz, and many others, all had their perfected amount of dryness, fruitiness and tanins. We were told the winemaker is from Italy and one of the owners with his wife, who was working there that day. She had been trained professionally to make the gelato which is made in house. Superbly creamy with a variety of flavors available. We did eat in order, pizza first, and it is WOOD-FIRED! All we can say is Yum and you should do yourself a favor and visit this place! You will be very happy. Plus it was not expensive!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really like the Luna Rosa Pizza there. Good wine great food, service is good. Great place for lunch or dinner. We also like there $5.00 pizza on Mondays. Nice outdoor patio to enjoy good wine and good food with good friends.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Food and Interesting Wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in town for one night on a Sunday and looking for a place to stay close to our campground. Luna Rossa was close and it was open - two pluses on a Sunday. The food was good. We had a pizza and I had a salad. We also had the cheese tray appetizer.

I was most impressed with the free wine tasting and the amount of wine served - both in the tasting and when I purchased a glass. I ended up with a red that was pretty decent. The whites were a little too sweet.

But overall, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Maybe you didn't go to Mesilla for Italian, but this little bistro is a treat.

We didn't enjoy it to the max since we did take-out, but the pizza and the lasagna were both delicious. The thin crust pizza was very nice.

The winery features wine from grapes grown in nearby Demming and our bottle of Zin (to go) was quite respectable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa Winery & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.